Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-11-2008, 03:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

condo thermostat change


I want to install a digital (programmable) thermostat in my condo. The current thermostat is connected to two red wires in the wall; two black wires are spliced together. The heating is though hot water registers in the main room and the bedroom.

I measured the voltage between the red wires and I think I remember it being about 30 Volts--the thing is I measured it on AC mode so now I'm not sure if I need to go back and double check the voltage to see if it's AC or DC... obviously I'm not too familiar with thermostats...

Anyway, if there is an obvious answer to the following question, let it be known: What kind of thermostat do I need to install? Any recommendations?

Thanks!

mason82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 08:36 PM   #2
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 0
Default

condo thermostat change


Find your transformer and look for a label/stamping that states it's rated voltage (should be AC voltage). It could be a 24V x-frmr putting out 30V...seems a little high, but there are variables involved. If it's 24V you should be able to hook up a digi-stat, but you'll need to determine which of the red wires is supplying the 24V, which can be done with a volt meter and an extension cord. Turn the stat off (or turn it way down...so the heat doesn't want to kick on) put one test lead into the ground hole of the ext cord, and touch the terminals of the red wires. One should show 0V and the other 24V. The one showing 24V will go on the 'R' term of the new stat, and the other (red) will go on 'W' of the stat. Leave the 2 blacks as there are.

As far as what digi-stat to get...get what you like...I wouldn't go 'over-board' as this stat only does heating cycle, right?? No A.C. ??

SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2008, 10:15 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

condo thermostat change


Great response!

Correct--the thermostat is only for heating.

How do I know if a thermostat is designed to use with the 24VAC that will have the "R" and "W" terminals... maybe what I'm getting at is, is there a category or type of thermostat that I should be looking for (e.g. I'm pretty sure I'm not looking for ones that say "For electric baseboard heating")?

Thanks again!
mason82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
condo, digital, hot, thermostat, water


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Totaline thermostat trouble shooting Goldwing93 HVAC 3 07-30-2009 10:35 PM
Replace Condo's 2 wire mechanical thermostat with digital thermostat kat83 HVAC 4 06-02-2008 03:44 PM
Oil Furnace - Swapping out to Programmable Thermostat slappy HVAC 2 12-05-2007 03:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.