Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-04-2010, 05:56 PM   #1

Share |

Condensor Good, Blower Bad ... ?

Hi,

I'm a novice (at best) when it comes to home repair, and especially with regard to HVAC. But money is tight right now (being unemployed sucks!) and my dad is pretty handy, so he's sort of the muscle and I'm the middle man who does the research for these types of things.

Anyway....

The blower in my furnace appears to be on vacation, but I'm trying to figure out what the specific problem is before I go replacing random parts.

For a while, the blower would come on but only when I put the thermostat to the "ON" position. My dad took a look and suspected that the blower motor might need lubrication, since turning the blower manually required more effort than he thought it should.

So I took the entire blower assembly out and dropped some lube into the oil pors, reassembled and re-attached (which was NOT easy to do by myself!). Things seemed to be OK, as the air conditioning would come on as expected when I had the thermostat on "AUTO" and set the temperature really low.

But in the past several days, I've noticed that when I put the tstat on "COOL" and "AUTO" and set the temp low, I hear the tstat click and the A/C condensor comes on a couple minutes later, but the blower never starts.

So my first question is, What do I do next?

* Sorry for the rambling first post
jengel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 06:07 PM   #2
Hvac Pro

When that happens, IMMEDIATELY switch the fan to ON and see if it runs. If it does then it may be the fan relay on your circuit board and the board is faulty. The relay may be sticking off. Post the make, model and serial # of the furnace and a pic of it.
Old 05-07-2010, 03:48 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post