Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-27-2012, 07:56 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

condensing unit


got a puron 4 ton condenser that wont come on,checked the charge and the suction pressure was 50psi. so i started charging the unit to get it up for the pressure switch it tried 3 0r 4 times but shut down. i manually made the contactor and got my pressure up to 150 suction 600 head which seems high,pulled off from the contactor hoping it would stay made but shut off

mike drum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 10:42 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

condensing unit


It also a high pressure switch. The 410-A condensers are very touchy feely when it comes to charge. You can either remove the pressure switches from circuit altogether and then try and set your charge (recovering and then weighing in would be best and if you do that don't forget to always charge Puron systems in liquid, bottle upside down) or simply keep pushing in and holding in the contactor. Make sure the inside system is running as well as sending control voltage out to the condenser but mainly the blower needs to be running or your pressures will never be right, you'll have a really hard time.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 11:16 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 336
Rewards Points: 252
Default

condensing unit


Could you be cutting out on high pressure now? 600 seems really high for a constant head pressure. I would have thought 350-450 would seem more likely. Does it cycle at all?
HVACDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 05:35 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

condensing unit


You need to stop and determine why the outdoor unit won't come on. AFTER you figure this out, then you need to charge the system based on subcooling. Consult the literature for the system to determine the correct subcooling value (probably somewhere around 11 degs). You cannot accurately charge a 410A system based solely on pressures, at least in my opinion. You can get close, but until you start taking temps, you won't be sure.
scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruud Pack unit "KABOOMS" upon First Light Up of the Day! Wirenut2tite HVAC 18 12-15-2012 10:11 AM
Compressor for Bryant condensing unit model 561CJ036-F sunball HVAC 4 06-04-2012 04:52 PM
Lifting condensing unit cbellinger HVAC 3 04-10-2012 10:04 PM
Deck Landing and A/C Unit Master Brian HVAC 10 07-22-2010 07:08 PM
Glacier on my AC Unit? Where's Al Gore? livinginthepark HVAC 10 07-13-2010 03:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.