Condensing Furnace Not Condensing?? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2013, 04:29 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 99
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Condensing furnace not condensing??


Hello all and a Happy 2013 to all.

My question is a simple one. My early 2000's Lennox Merit 90UGF doesn't seem to be producing any water out of it's condesate drain. No other wate leaks in furnace bay. Is this normal?

And yes the drain line is clear and properly routed too.

Advertisement

mlijoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 06:40 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,477
Rewards Points: 4,600
Default

Condensing furnace not condensing??


Check air filter.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 06:49 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 99
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Condensing furnace not condensing??


It's clean, just some dust buildup
mlijoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 08:31 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,477
Rewards Points: 4,600
Default

Condensing furnace not condensing??


Too ow of air flow, over over firing can cause no condensate.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 08:41 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Condensing furnace not condensing??


it can indeed......
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 04:02 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 99
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Condensing furnace not condensing??


Ok, that makes sense. I had a gas man come last year and he made an adjustment with a really old manometer (not digital) and he bumped up the pressue a 1/4 turn so now it's probably over firing. Which way turning the screw reduces pressure?
mlijoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 07:12 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,477
Rewards Points: 4,600
Default

Condensing furnace not condensing??


Should only be adjusted using a manometer.

I still have a couple old ones. And they work as well as any of my newer ones.

Don't assume its over fired. check it with a manometer, or have someone check it. under firing is as bad as over firing.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 07:38 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 99
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Condensing furnace not condensing??


Ok thanks, im going to do a meter clocking asap.

Advertisement

mlijoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quote for new furnace. Reasonable? dengle HVAC 16 03-04-2012 08:01 AM
lint/dust from furnace uksparky HVAC 15 02-16-2012 06:01 PM
Moving furnace & redoing ducting cbrc5eric HVAC 0 02-09-2012 09:13 AM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 07:43 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts