Condensing Furnace - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2011, 09:12 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

condensing furnace


I just put in a new condensing furnace with a concentric vent. It has a tendency of shutting down the flame, turning off after the cool down period and immediately restarting before the programmed temp is reached. ANY IDEAS???
2480 fool

Advertisement


Last edited by 2480fool; 03-05-2011 at 09:14 AM.
2480fool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 09:15 AM   #2
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

condensing furnace


No this is not a normal operation, sounds like you have a problem with the inducer air flow switch dipping out breaking contact, which will shut down the flame.

Mark

Edit - Possible cause is too much restriction in your exhaust

Advertisement

__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 12:07 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,546
Rewards Points: 4,730
Default

condensing furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by 2480fool View Post
I just put in a new condensing furnace with a concentric vent. It has a tendency of shutting down the flame, turning off after the cool down period and immediately restarting before the programmed temp is reached. ANY IDEAS???
2480 fool
Its probably over sized, and tripping its high limit.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 05:50 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

condensing furnace


Got her up and running. The furnace is only 38,000 BTU's. It was putting out aprox. 35,000. I had not yet figured in the high altitude adjustment, I am at 6300 feet. an had to adjust the firing rate down aprox. 20%. I'm now at aprox. 30,000, and all seems well.
Later,
2480fool
2480fool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 07:19 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,546
Rewards Points: 4,730
Default

condensing furnace


You did derate it using smaller orifices, didn't you. Cause just turning down the gas pressure will cause it to have a poor flame, combustion wise. And shorten the life span of your new furnace.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 07:51 PM   #6
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 500
Default

condensing furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by 2480fool View Post
I just put in a new condensing furnace with a concentric vent. It has a tendency of shutting down the flame, turning off after the cool down period and immediately restarting before the programmed temp is reached. ANY IDEAS???
2480 fool
May have too many elbows on fresh air and chocking it down.
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 08:58 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

condensing furnace


Orifice size is constant for natural gas from 0 to 10,000 ft. a 45. Only item to adjust is pressure.
thanx,
2480 fool
2480fool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 09:09 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,546
Rewards Points: 4,730
Default

condensing furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by 2480fool View Post
Orifice size is constant for natural gas from 0 to 10,000 ft. a 45. Only item to adjust is pressure.
thanx,
2480 fool
Don't know what brand you have. But all the brands I work on call for different size orifices for different altitudes. Some have 5 different orifice sizes to every 2,000 foot of altitude.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 09:15 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

condensing furnace


It's a Gibson Nordyne. Gas is constant from 0-10,000 a 45. Propane is a 55 from 0-5,999 and a 56 from 6,000 to 10,000.
2480fool
2480fool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 09:18 AM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,546
Rewards Points: 4,730
Default

condensing furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by 2480fool View Post
It's a Gibson Nordyne. Gas is constant from 0-10,000 a 45. Propane is a 55 from 0-5,999 and a 56 from 6,000 to 10,000.
2480fool

Strange, I have a Nordyne sheet that list 5 different orifices for nat gas from 0 to 2000, 2000 to 4000, 4000 to 6000, 6000 to 8000, and 8000 to 10,000.

Post the full model number of your furnace. And what pressure you have your manifold at with those 0 to 2000 foot orifices.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 10:38 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

condensing furnace


The model # GL1RC040-08A, *RC 92+ compact upflow/horizontal condensing furnace, 38,000 btu, installation instructions #7083650 print date 11-06. manifold at 3.3, page 22 orifice 45, 0-10,000 feet.For heating values less then 900 mulipy manifold pressure by 1.1. The stated pressure 3.0 is based on heating value of 900-999 btu. I am at 825. Therefore I have to multiply by 1.1.
2480fool
2480fool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 12:39 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,546
Rewards Points: 4,730
Default

condensing furnace


R series are 49 orifice for 6000 to 8000 foot. This is for in the USA only.

I know what those old install instructions say.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 06:12 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

condensing furnace


I originally printed out a installation manual from the internet. It was for a *SC Upflow/Horizontal by Nordyne #709046A dated 3/10. It stated a 49 orifice for HIGH HEATING VALUE. I am low at 825, and this one also calls for a 45.
2480fool

Last edited by 2480fool; 03-06-2011 at 06:14 PM.
2480fool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2011, 07:53 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,546
Rewards Points: 4,730
Default

condensing furnace


Its yours to soot up.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 04:51 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
slope of ac drain and condensing furnace drain. hartkem HVAC 5 11-24-2008 09:38 AM
Rollout on Goodman Condensing furnace jogr HVAC 11 11-20-2008 09:30 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts