Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-13-2009, 06:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Condenser Fan Replacement Help


I have a Carrier Puron Heat Pump Mode 38YZA036310.

I called an HVAC guy initially who diagnosed the condenser fan was bad and quoted me $1300+ to replace it. After seeing a few wires and four bolts plus a capacitor replacement was all that was entailed, I did it myself.

I replaced the GE 5kcp39gr motor with the Grainger recommended AO Smith Model F48U64A01. Specs were 1ph 208-230V 825rpm 1/5hp paired with a Dayton 2MDV4 capacitor.

This all worked out great for about a month, and last night we noticed it getting warm, and sure enough the stinking condenser fan is not running again. I checked voltage to make sure it was still good, checked the capacitor (I believe it is good...not sure I checked it right) turned my meter on ohms and watched it travel a bunch of numbers until it sat at 1. I then checked the resistance across the two hot wires and got a resistance reading of 1.3...which if I researched correctly is bad...not sure.

What the heck is killing my condensor motors? (If anyone has thoughts on additional ways to check it to confirm this it would be great)

Secondly, does it appear as though the linked motors will replace my current one(rpms are higher on the second one if that makes a difference?...or anyone elses suggestions would be most welcome.

http://www.aqua-man.com/motorManDeta...&motorID=11333

http://www.amazon.com/Diameter-Conde...7523620&sr=1-4

Thanks for your help!!!

Greg

jackofonetrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 06:35 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Condenser Fan Replacement Help


what is the cap putting out on c to fan ?? Was the cap rating the same as fan rating ?? Did you install a new cap.? Don't go over on the rpms

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 06:47 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Condenser Fan Replacement Help


The capacitor is the correct one...it was matched as per the manufacturer. It is rated at 370VAC. Thank you for your help.
jackofonetrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 06:48 PM   #4
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Condenser Fan Replacement Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by jackofonetrade View Post
The capacitor is the correct one...it was matched as per the manufacturer. It is rated at 370VAC. Thank you for your help.


The fan motor & cap. will have a uf rating
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 06:56 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Condenser Fan Replacement Help


5uf +/- 5%
jackofonetrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 07:04 PM   #6
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Condenser Fan Replacement Help


could have just gotten bad motor... If I remember correctly. AO Smith are made in china land now
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 07:07 PM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Condenser Fan Replacement Help


Was the OEM fan wired into to a separate cap or did have other wires coming off it beside the fan motor?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 07:24 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Condenser Fan Replacement Help


was the fan turning in the right direction????
bervin306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 07:24 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Condenser Fan Replacement Help


The original motor had a capacitor that had both the fan and compressor running into it. That capacitor is still being used by the compressor. The new motor has (or I guess had) a new capacitor and it is wired seperately just to the new motor.
jackofonetrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 07:34 PM   #10
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Condenser Fan Replacement Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by jackofonetrade View Post
The original motor had a capacitor that had both the fan and compressor running into it. That capacitor is still being used by the compressor. The new motor has (or I guess had) a new capacitor and it is wired seperately just to the new motor.
What do you mean "YOU GUESS'? Did you wire the new motor with the cap?

Also can you post a pic of the invoice that indicates the tech was going to charge you $1300.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 07-13-2009 at 07:36 PM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 07:37 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Condenser Fan Replacement Help


LOL...sorry It was my feeble attempt at humor...I meant that it was new along with the motor.
jackofonetrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 07:43 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Condenser Fan Replacement Help


The Carrier motor in the first link is rated for 60°C ambient, as it should be. What is the amb. temp. rating for the motor you put in?

Last edited by Yoyizit; 07-13-2009 at 07:51 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 07:51 PM   #13
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Condenser Fan Replacement Help


You wired in the cap wrong or the motor went bad .

And WHITEY, please! 1300 for condenser fan motor?

And you sittin' there wonderin' why ain't no body rushin' to answer 'yo Cracker butt.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 08:00 PM   #14
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Condenser Fan Replacement Help


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post

And you sittin' there wonderin' why ain't no body rushin' to answer 'yo Cracker butt.



Now, How do you know he's a cracker ??
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 08:00 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Condenser Fan Replacement Help


I will look and see if I still have it, but it was $1242 with thier "discounted membership plan" and that didn't even include tax! (Lowery Electric) I looked at the guy and said "You are kidding right?...dude it is four bolts and four wires....seriously?" The tech looked kind of sheepishly at me, and said...ummm yeah basically" I asked if they could just order me the motor...he said no they don't do that. I just shook my head as they were already 2 1/2hrs late for their "scheduled" appointment. I just couldn't

jackofonetrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bathtub Spout Replacement cspirit Plumbing 4 03-18-2011 06:39 PM
Replacement Window - Nail Fin Question smoenra General DIY Discussions 12 09-04-2008 10:19 AM
Condenser Fan Quits After approx 10 min kdogg HVAC 5 08-06-2008 06:03 PM
Condenser fan motor/compressor kristeng HVAC 3 07-26-2008 11:02 AM
sill replacement or? watchtower7 Building & Construction 5 06-07-2008 03:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.