Condenser Fan Motor Old 3-wire To New 4-wire Help Needed - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2013, 05:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Condenser Fan Motor Old 3-wire to New 4-wire Help Needed


Hello, I have an A.O. Smith Condenser Motor and told this was the correct replacement. The old motor is 3-wire and the new motor is 4-wire. I have attached images. Can someone please explain which wires on the new motor go to the old connections.
This is an image of the Wiring Schematic on the old motor

http://www.screencast.com/t/9zhSsxG0nn

This is an image of the wiring schematic on the New Motor

http://www.screencast.com/t/Go3UmJLn


My question is where do the new 4 wires connect in relation to the old 3 wires. I was told the Brwn/White wire is not used. But I Want to confirm and also verify that BlK goes to Blk, Brwn to Brwn and Then Yellow to Purple? Please help. Thank you in advance

Advertisement


Last edited by AnthonyCappa; 05-01-2013 at 06:02 PM.
AnthonyCappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 06:57 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Condenser Fan Motor Old 3-wire to New 4-wire Help Needed


the connection is the 2 wires coming into the motor typical as is. forget the wires out of the motors old or new...brown-brown /white to cap others to the 2 incoming.different motor windings call for 2 separate cap brown wires as the new one has.rotation wires are changeable...air should blow up into your face looking down into the condenser..good luck

Advertisement

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 10:40 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Condenser Fan Motor Old 3-wire to New 4-wire Help Needed


Yeah, perhaps its just me, but I didnt understand your reply. I know where the current 3 wires connect, is it possible to tell me which of the new 4- wires would replace those 3 connections. I apologize for my ignorance, but to me, the simplest way to replace this is to take note of the current 3 colored connections and then if someone could state the color wires to replace them with and what to do with the 4th wire. Thank you in advance.
AnthonyCappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 04:40 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 27,709
Rewards Points: 7,008
Default

Condenser Fan Motor Old 3-wire to New 4-wire Help Needed


Use yellow for purple, and black is the same as the old black. Use the new motors brown wire the same as the old motors brown wire. Cap off the brown with white stripe wire.

Hopefully you got a new dual run capacitor also. When ever a PS motor(thats the type you have) is changed out, the capacitor should also be changed out.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 09:14 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Condenser Fan Motor Old 3-wire to New 4-wire Help Needed


Thank you "Beenthere" That is fantastic and very clear. Your information also confirms with what I have read. I really appreciate your reply. Thank you again.
AnthonyCappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ground wire needed sirsparksalot Electrical 22 04-25-2012 09:59 AM
convert 3 wire range junction box to receptacle filby Electrical 0 06-05-2011 01:33 AM
water meter ground wire jumper not needed? windowguy Electrical 13 07-21-2009 05:37 PM
8 wire to 4 wire thermostat help needed dj petey Electrical 5 01-19-2008 09:11 AM
8 wire to 4 wire thermostat help needed dj petey HVAC 5 04-15-2006 12:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts