Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2012, 06:19 PM   #1
Still Learning
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 338
Share |
Default

condenser fan motor


This thin is blowing my mind I need some help. I'm working on my dads rental property in Vegas and the condenser fan stopped running. New motor, new capacitor, all it does is hum. It doesn't start. Even if I hook it straight to L1 and L2. Any ideas? Please help its hot as Hell here!

thehvacguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 06:25 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,248
Default

condenser fan motor


Is it wired for 220 volts?
Sounds like your trying to run it on 110 volts when it needs 220.
Is the new motor 110/220? If so you wired it wrong look again at the diagram in the cover.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 06:45 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,830
Default

condenser fan motor


Did you get a new capacitor for the new motor, or are you trying to reuse the old cap.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 08:30 PM   #4
Still Learning
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 338
Default

condenser fan motor


I got a new capacitor rated at 7.5mfd which is what the motor calls for. It is a 220v fan motor, and the package unit is 220v. I hooked up the 2 brown wires to the capacitor, and the other 2 wires are black and white. I put black on T1 and white on T2. Called for cooling and the compressor comes on but the fan just humms like it wants to start. It makes the same sound as a 110v fan motor with a bad capacitor. I even hooked the fan up to L1 and L2 thinking maybe the circut board was messed up or something but all it does is hum...

I changed out the fan motor with what was there already. I know the system was functional several months ago... What is tripping me out is that the schematic on the unit shows a dual capacitor, but this unit has dedicated capacitors. When I first looked at the unit, the white wire coming from the condenser fan was hooked up to one of the leads on the capacitor for the compressor. I'm pulling my hair out right now...
thehvacguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 08:33 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Texas City, Texas
Posts: 21
Default

condenser fan motor


Check supply voltage coming to contactor then the voltage through the contactor. Verify the motor is not locked up,(new out of box motors can be locked up) . Verify Motor is Correct voltage as well..
Nickhvactech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 08:39 PM   #6
Still Learning
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 338
Default

condenser fan motor


What would cause a lack of voltage on the high side of the contactor? Also what do you mean a new motor can be locked up? I never seen that happen before...
thehvacguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 08:42 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

condenser fan motor


i have seen it many times...... do you have 240 volt to the motor .....if you do go get another one it is pooched
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to carmon For This Useful Post:
Nickhvactech (10-05-2012)
Old 10-05-2012, 08:45 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Texas City, Texas
Posts: 21
Default

condenser fan motor


Contactor Failed, not supplying complete voltage to system( Which doesnt seem correct due to compressor starting) and yes, motors out of box have locked up on me before. Always seem to be the ones i have to drive an hour to get !
Nickhvactech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 08:47 PM   #9
Still Learning
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 338
Default

condenser fan motor


That's what is confusing. The fan motor pulls only 2 amps. And the compressor was running fine, the pressure was shooting all the way up...
thehvacguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 08:48 PM   #10
Still Learning
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 338
Default

condenser fan motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by carmon
i have seen it many times...... do you have 240 volt to the motor .....if you do go get another one it is pooched
Even if I can spin the fanblade with my hands?
thehvacguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 08:50 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Texas City, Texas
Posts: 21
Default

condenser fan motor


If the motor is not running(head pressure sky rockets) .. If motor has 240 volts,(after checking at contactor).. and the run CApactior is correct for the new motor. yet the motor isnt moving; replace the new motor

Given both browns to Run cap (if it has a seperate cap)
and both high voltage on contactor
Nickhvactech is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Nickhvactech For This Useful Post:
carmon (10-05-2012)
Old 10-06-2012, 02:39 AM   #12
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Default

condenser fan motor


ring out the capacitor wires and the motor winding wires on that motor something is open..try old cap

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to replace condensor fan motor? twags HVAC 43 07-22-2013 08:09 PM
Condenser Fan Motor stopping after 10-15 minutes, but will restart justplumducky HVAC 14 07-14-2012 02:36 PM
attacking a condenser motor change out biggles HVAC 0 06-24-2012 06:14 AM
Outside condenser fan motor stops tatums4 HVAC 21 10-12-2011 08:17 PM
Replacing a Condenser Fan Motor thothtp HVAC 5 06-08-2008 06:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.