Condenser Failed, Inside Blower Still Run, Please Help - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2014, 11:08 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 275
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Condenser failed, inside blower still run, please help


Hi, everyone, I have a Amana split AC, about 13 years old. Yesterday, the outside condenser failed to start. Inside blower OK, but blow warm air only. Called a tech this morning, he checked condenser (about 15 minutes) my thermostat (about 5 minutes), upstair blower (about 10 minutes). then he said the 24V does not get to the condenser, I have a bad control board and needs to be replaced. But I just replace that control board last year because the blower failed. so it is that board again ? I do not know much about control board, can some one tell me is it possible the control board caused this 24V problem. Thanks.

Advertisement

clocert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 11:42 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 458
Rewards Points: 256
Default

Condenser failed, inside blower still run, please help


Yes it is possible.

Advertisement

IslandGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 12:33 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 275
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Condenser failed, inside blower still run, please help


Thanks for the respond. but I thought the 24V was sent out by the thermostat and contol board is not even in the picture. Am I all wrong ?
clocert is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to clocert For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (05-15-2014)
Old 05-15-2014, 06:32 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

Condenser failed, inside blower still run, please help


Get a meter and heck it yourself. The control board seldom sends the 24 volt to the outdoor unit. Its usually done by the thermostat.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 07:47 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,614
Rewards Points: 2,542
Default

Condenser failed, inside blower still run, please help


yep check it your self....set for cool.. at condenser check for 24 volt on low voltage wire... also reset breaker in panel box....
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 01:05 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 106
Rewards Points: 109
Default

Condenser failed, inside blower still run, please help


It is also possible that the T-stat wires running to the contactor at the condenser are bad...use a volt meter to check for 24v at the contactor... If not present follow the wires back to the board or to the T-stat where the begin and check for 24v there... If present there but not at contactor t-stat wires may be broken somewhere.
a.man1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 03:16 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 275
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Condenser failed, inside blower still run, please help


I checked the following: and found 24V at the T-stat Y wire, also at the control board Y terminal. but not at the contactor. I also checked that wire before it goes into the condenser, not there either. So the problem must be somewhere between the control board and the condenser. The issue here is that small wire is inside of the wall, not sure how to fix it.
clocert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 08:36 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 343
Rewards Points: 266
Default

Condenser failed, inside blower still run, please help


Thermostat wire is cheap, run a piece out the window if you have to and see if that's the problem and then you will know what you are up against. Easy enough to check that way.
HVACDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 11:56 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 275
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Condenser failed, inside blower still run, please help


Thanks, I can easily run a wire and do that test. but that does not solve all my problem. My control board is way up in the attic, I can not figure out how to run that new wire from attic to my condenser permanently. Here I have another idea, not sure if it is going to work. How about run the wire from thermostat directly to the condenser (bypass control board). My thermostat is only 12 feet away from the condenser along the same wall. I can drill a hole easily and run the wire out. Do you think this is going to work ?
clocert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 12:14 PM   #10
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,549
Rewards Points: 780
Default

Condenser failed, inside blower still run, please help


Don't try that, you may cook your thermostat. You need to locate the spot on the board that your AC is connected to and verify 24V there. If it is there and not at the outdoor unit replace the wire. This is not optional. A bad wire can damage your board if it has not already.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 01:50 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 275
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Condenser failed, inside blower still run, please help


Why do you say ' cook my thermostat ' ? All I am going to do is hook up that 24V from thermostat to the contactor, will not connect to anything else. I still don't understand why the Y wire has to go to control board first and then go to contactor. Am I missing something here ?
clocert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 02:01 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,195
Rewards Points: 1,646
Default

Condenser failed, inside blower still run, please help


My Techie charges me extra if I follow him around with a stop watch. If I leave the property during his visit I get a senior discount.
SeniorSitizen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 02:32 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 343
Rewards Points: 266
Default

Condenser failed, inside blower still run, please help


You can hook Y from Your stat directly through to your contactor, bypassing the board will loose your fan delay if there is one. You will also need C on your other wire out to contactor. If the contactor is shorted to ground you could damage your stat in this case, but it would happen either way, so not a big risk, and what you are describing doesn't sound like a short. Control fuse should still be in place in R connection so you should have protection there too. All depends what burns first in that case.
HVACDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 03:52 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 275
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Condenser failed, inside blower still run, please help


Thanks HVACDave, I used a test wire from control board to condenser, that works. So next I'll try a wire from my thermostat to condenser, I did see a 'C' wire in my thermostat. I guess I can use both Y & C wires. if that works, I am done. I do not think I have any fan delay (because my fan never delay), and thermostat is cheap anyway, if it get burned, I'll just buy a new one. Thanks again. you really helped.
clocert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 01:29 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 275
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Condenser failed, inside blower still run, please help


Report back. New wire put in, everything OK, Thanks a million.....

Advertisement

clocert is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blower not running - Package unit, A/C & Gas Heat justplumducky HVAC 4 09-22-2013 08:13 PM
Carrier - Blower fan NOT coming on anku HVAC 8 08-30-2013 09:46 AM
Blower shuts off even when set to 'on' fetzer85 HVAC 1 07-05-2010 12:48 PM
Inside Blower motor keeps running crawlerchris HVAC 1 12-19-2009 09:01 PM
Goodman HVAC gmp100-3 Inside blower problems ray_adrea HVAC 4 06-28-2007 01:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts