Condensate Trap - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2012, 12:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 133
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Condensate trap


Can these be cleaned and if so, how and what would you use too clean them.

Advertisement

rick31797 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 12:54 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Condensate trap


You mean like a P trap? If you have a T installed in the drain line than you can blow the line clear if it's clogged. You can cut the line nearest the evaporator coil, blow it out and either install a T for next time (preferabbly an inline float safety switch that you dry fit shut so you can use to blow out as well as protect from condensate back up) of simply reconnect the lines with a coupling and some pvc glue.

There are also drain pan tablets you stick in the main evaporator drain pan that keeps alge and slime and whatnot from building up.

http://www.dallashvacparts.com/pt-15...blets-pantabs/

Advertisement

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 12:58 PM   #3
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Condensate trap


http://www.rectorseal.com/Safe-T-Switch-SS1.php

It's a two fer. Actually you do glue all connections EXCEPT for the top which is the safety float switch. It can be pulled off so you can have easy access to the drain.

Good switch!
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 12:59 PM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Condensate trap


block the condensate opening fill the pan as much as possible see if it flows out..steady...if it is slow take a piece of clear plastic hose or old garden hose 24" slip it ito the condensate opening with a wet paper towel wrapped around the end and blow into it.....if your trap outside the unit has a vent riser pipe...tape it over...so with the water running slow you blow out the crap in the trap....check again in july aug...wipe the pan down of crap cycle water again..do you have an emergency pan under the air handler if your in the attic???
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 08:08 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 133
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Condensate trap


We may not be talking about the same thing , this is a small plastic bottle attached to the side of the furnace , two hoses in and one hose out to the condensate pump.
The condensate bottle is sealed, meaning it cannot be opened up.. I am thinking at some point the condensate must not flow through them like when new, can you soak them in a solution , or just force clean water through them, or just replace them..

here is one on ebay of a similar one..

http://www.ebay.ca/itm/York-Luxaire-...2#ht_708wt_956
rick31797 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 08:12 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Condensate trap


you can do all or any of the things you mentioned....

Advertisement

carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace condensate drain/trap issue SteveC HVAC 33 12-27-2012 12:46 PM
Trane XR90 - Condensate Drane Trap JDWorks HVAC 16 02-07-2012 08:59 PM
Is rust in my condensate trap okay? da_man HVAC 2 07-29-2011 08:06 PM
Attic A/C Unit Condensate Trap bardad1022 HVAC 3 06-25-2007 08:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts