Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-18-2013, 02:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Condensate Pump Float Switch not Always Working


If I physically press the float switch, the pump will function properly. When the reservoir fills with water, sometimes the pump is triggered while other times it isn't until the point water spills out the basin. When the basin is filled, sometimes the lightest touch will trigger the switch. I'm guessing the pressure from the water isn't high enough to trigger the switch in all cases. I've opened the pump and there doesn't appear to be any buildup or debris. The pump is two years old. Any help is greatly appreciated before I go purchase a new pump. Thank you.

Leroyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 04:42 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,769
Default

Condensate Pump Float Switch not Always Working


Seen those switches fail in less then a year.

If the float isn't all gummed up, probably is the switch itself.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 06:44 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Central Connecticut
Posts: 14
Default

Condensate Pump Float Switch not Always Working


I had the same problem. My pump is attached to the side of the unit, but it was not level. Worked sometimes, sometimes it didn't. Gave it a tap and it would run.

Anyway, I leveled the pump and it has run perfectly ever since.

Hope that helps.

Jeff
Jtom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 07:02 PM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,625
Default

Condensate Pump Float Switch not Always Working


clean all the slime weighing down the float and in the tank spry the switch with WD40
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 way switch layout has me confused crescere Electrical 5 09-08-2012 10:26 AM
pump on timer with switch override kpgraci Electrical 4 04-22-2012 03:58 PM
3-Way switch not working properly KG4ONJ Electrical 4 09-01-2011 09:29 PM
Brand new Carrier Infinity 16 Heat Pump Stopped Working I think needmyac HVAC 3 07-07-2009 06:12 PM
Vertical float switch for a flotec sump pump Kimp Plumbing 2 02-24-2009 10:17 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.