Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-05-2011, 09:03 AM   #46
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 135
Share |
Default

Condensate only drains when blower stops


Maybe you should try only one drain hooked up. There may not be enough air pressure to overcome the water in the trap the second drain. Try a screw in plug for the other drain and put a cap on where it connects to the main drain line.
I dont think you really need two drains.

Artco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 08:28 AM   #47
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 22
Default

Condensate only drains when blower stops


I reinstalled the cleanout for the primary drain and capped the secondary drain. I opened up the panel to take a look at the coil again. I could see the inside of the coils by removing the plate at the tip of the "A". They appeared pretty clean, no dust or other visible obstructions.

Since temps have been so mild here, there haven't been many opportunites to run the A/C. So the pan was bone dry. The trap from the primary drain still had water in it. I'll report back when conditions are better suited to test.

One last thing: when the blower comes on, with the primary drain's cleanout removed, and the secondary drain uncapped, the air flow out the primary is much greater than the secondary.
sethmorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2011, 09:37 AM   #48
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 135
Default

Condensate only drains when blower stops


You may find that the trap has to be removed because when it is full of water the air pressure is not enough to push the water through it.
Without the trap there is not much air loss to worry about when cooling is on because condensate is flowing and restricting a lot of air loss in the condensate pipe.
It will not affect your units cooling capacity.

I do commercial hvac and on some carrier and other mfg. Units if the drain is upstream of the blower they do not want a p trap installed because of the restriction put on the drain.
Artco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 03:32 PM   #49
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 22
Default

Condensate only drains when blower stops


I just wanted to update this thread with the solution. According to the installation documentation for the evap coil regarding the condensate drain:

"A trap must be used when the coil is installed on the
return air side of the system. When coil is installed on
the supply side (outlet air) it is not necessary to install
a trap and better drainage is usually achieved without
the trap."

My coil is installed on the supply side, so I guess I need to remove the trap to resolve this. Thanks to all for the input.

sethmorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Plus 90 - No Blower Ducaticorse HVAC 11 10-16-2012 08:39 PM
Heat comes on but blower never does aczer HVAC 12 02-13-2011 06:57 AM
Bryant Gas Furnace - blower sarts and stops montepix HVAC 7 12-24-2009 04:11 PM
Carrier 58MXA Wiring Blower Switch 63012753 HVAC 0 10-06-2009 09:09 PM
KNOWLEDGABLE condensate advice needed Nestor_Kelebay HVAC 5 11-23-2008 07:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.