Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-26-2010, 10:03 AM   #16
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,627
Share |
Default

Condensate only drains when blower stops


you have 4 PVC lines there? the one with the trap is your main the one down to the emergency pan needs to be removed and plugged the one behing the gas valve is the emergency panel it should be on the insulated base of the fan(not off the condensate pan.right now if it is,and seems to be on the positive side of that coil it is pressurizing the atmospheric side of the main trap and that is why your no draining.the other line going into the curb..what and where is that going..but definitly cut that one behing the gas valve and drop that down to the emergency pan....TOOOOO many connection for a simple drain out of a horizontal unit

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 03:14 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Condensate only drains when blower stops


Quote:
Originally Posted by sethmorgan View Post
An airgap?
Take your hose fitting and turn it so the opening is up. Creates a vacuum break so the line drains better. Everything is piped correctly according to the latest photos. Actually overkill with a float switch on the emergancy pan and a drain from it also. Guessing there was just a float at one time and somebody got tired of loosing cooling so added the drain line.
Check and see if the coil is level or slighty canted toward the primary drain.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 05:48 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 22
Default

Condensate only drains when blower stops


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Can you measure the air temp at the return of the furnace. And in the plenum right after the coil.
If not. then the temps at the nearest return grille and nearest supply register. Thats not as good as knowing what the temps are at the unit though.
Air temp at the return of the furnace: 74.7
Air temp at nearest supply register: 69.6

Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Along with model number of the outdoor unit, the indoor coil, and the furnace model number. Furnace model number is inside the burner compartment.

With that info. We know what size your equipment is, and what size blower your furnace has. Along with temp rise across the coil. We may be able to determine if the air flow is set too high.
International Comfort Products:
Outdoor unit: NAC048AKC3
Indoor coil: EPM48F19CT1
Furnace model: N8MPN075F16A1
sethmorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 08:10 AM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,800
Default

Condensate only drains when blower stops


4 ton unit, with a 4 ton blower. So it shouldn't be a velocity issue per say.
The low supply temp doesn't sound right though. And would indicate a air flow problem.

How much condensate are you getting out? Does your house feel clamy, like the humidity is too high.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 08:10 AM   #20
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,800
Default

Condensate only drains when blower stops


4 ton unit, with a 4 ton blower. So it shouldn't be a velocity issue per say.
The low supply temp doesn't sound right though. And would indicate a air flow problem.

How much condensate are you getting out? Does your house feel clamy, like the humidity is too high.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 08:19 AM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 22
Default

Condensate only drains when blower stops


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
4 ton unit, with a 4 ton blower. So it shouldn't be a velocity issue per say.
The low supply temp doesn't sound right though. And would indicate a air flow problem.
I measured the temp at the nearest supply register which is in a closet, so the reading may be due to the narrower duct; maybe flow is the problem there (for measurement purposes). I can remove the coil access panel and take a measurement there, but I hate to re-mastic again

Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
How much condensate are you getting out? Does your house feel clamy, like the humidity is too high.
Seems like quite a bit of condensate drains out. When I was running the blower 24/7, the secondary pan had an inch of water in it within 12 hours. We're humid here in the south, but my indoor hygrometer reads between 45% and 50%. The house doesn't feel clammy but I may just be used to it.
sethmorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 09:56 AM   #22
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,800
Default

Condensate only drains when blower stops


Removing the panel would give a false reading. Since some of the air would bypass the coil. And give you a colder air temp coming out of the coil.

One thing you can do. And yep, you'll have to remastic the panel.

Is get a sheet of plex glass. Cut the same size as the panel. Remove the panel, and seal the plex glass in its place. Run the A/C, and watch what happens to the condensate. And see if its is being blown off of the coil. Or help toward the upper end of the drain pan.

Or if the drain pan is leaking(cracked maybe).

Sometimes a cleaning of the coil, will eliminate this type of condensate problem, sometimes not.
I've seen more then one coil that became so dirty, that the air that bypasses the coil near the drain pan is so much, that it blows the condensate off the drain pan.

You need to look at the coil side toward the furnace. The top side(discharge) can look clean, while the other side looks like its covered with a blanket.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 10:03 AM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 22
Default

Condensate only drains when blower stops


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Removing the panel would give a false reading. Since some of the air would bypass the coil. And give you a colder air temp coming out of the coil.
I meant removing the panel to insert the thermometer, then remastic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
One thing you can do. And yep, you'll have to remastic the panel.

Is get a sheet of plex glass. Cut the same size as the panel. Remove the panel, and seal the plex glass in its place. Run the A/C, and watch what happens to the condensate. And see if its is being blown off of the coil. Or help toward the upper end of the drain pan.

Or if the drain pan is leaking(cracked maybe).
Great idea! I'll try that and let you know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Sometimes a cleaning of the coil, will eliminate this type of condensate problem, sometimes not.
I've seen more then one coil that became so dirty, that the air that bypasses the coil near the drain pan is so much, that it blows the condensate off the drain pan.

You need to look at the coil side toward the furnace. The top side(discharge) can look clean, while the other side looks like its covered with a blanket.
I foamed the coil thinking if it was clogged with dirt, the air would pass around the sides to where the drain is located, but that didn't seem to help.

I appreciate all the help.
sethmorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2010, 10:06 AM   #24
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,800
Default

Condensate only drains when blower stops


If a coil has a blanket on its inlet side. Foaming cleaner won't get through the blanket.

I wish it would.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 11:20 AM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 22
Default

Condensate only drains when blower stops


I think I've discovered the problem. Where the inlet side of the coil mates up with the framework is a little space that looks like it allows air to blow by. Raising up the coil makes it flush. And is it supposed to be this rusty?
Attached Thumbnails
Condensate only drains when blower stops-dscn5195.jpg  
sethmorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 11:14 AM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 72
Default

Condensate only drains when blower stops


ok sir from reading the different posts in my opinion this should help you out.#1 this is a gas furnace so the need for the p trap is useless.The p trap is designed to keep the unit blower from creating a negative pressure on the drain while its running.This is a gas furnace and the blower is making it a positive pressure.Im not sure but is the air vent before the trap? I would remove the ptrap and just run a line straight out.You can put a tee in the line to allow air to help it drain and yes the air will come out the fitting.You can just allow the condensate to drain on its own.to be honest with you the things you are posting is when a system doesnt have a ptrap and the drain is a negative pressure.The system wont drain untill the unit shuts off.In my neck of the woods people dont know how to plumb the a/c condensate line correctly and you see it happen ,the unit stops and water gushes out onto the roof.Its kinda funny!
1mastertech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 11:54 AM   #27
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Condensate only drains when blower stops


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1mastertech View Post
ok sir from reading the different posts in my opinion this should help you out.#1 this is a gas furnace so the need for the p trap is useless.The p trap is designed to keep the unit blower from creating a negative pressure on the drain while its running.This is a gas furnace and the blower is making it a positive pressure.Im not sure but is the air vent before the trap? I would remove the ptrap and just run a line straight out.You can put a tee in the line to allow air to help it drain and yes the air will come out the fitting.You can just allow the condensate to drain on its own.to be honest with you the things you are posting is when a system doesnt have a ptrap and the drain is a negative pressure.The system wont drain untill the unit shuts off.In my neck of the woods people dont know how to plumb the a/c condensate line correctly and you see it happen ,the unit stops and water gushes out onto the roof.Its kinda funny!
You realize this thread is from 2010?
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 07:56 AM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 22
Default

Condensate only drains when blower stops


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1mastertech View Post
ok sir from reading the different posts in my opinion this should help you out.#1 this is a gas furnace so the need for the p trap is useless.The p trap is designed to keep the unit blower from creating a negative pressure on the drain while its running.This is a gas furnace and the blower is making it a positive pressure.
Doesn't the P-trap also act as an air barrier to prevent some of my "bought air" from just blowing outside?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1mastertech View Post
Im not sure but is the air vent before the trap? I would remove the ptrap and just run a line straight out.You can put a tee in the line to allow air to help it drain and yes the air will come out the fitting.You can just allow the condensate to drain on its own.
Yes, the air vent is before the trap. You can see how it's set up in the pictures on page 1. If I remove the vent cap this accomplishes the same thing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1mastertech View Post
to be honest with you the things you are posting is when a system doesnt have a ptrap and the drain is a negative pressure.The system wont drain untill the unit shuts off.In my neck of the woods people dont know how to plumb the a/c condensate line correctly and you see it happen ,the unit stops and water gushes out onto the roof.Its kinda funny!
I just had the spring maintenance/inspection done on the system. My HVAC guy seems to know what he's talking about and told me he's seen plently of incorrectly installed systems. And this one was installed correctly. Thanks for chiming in, even though the thread is from last year. I have just resigned myself to having the vent cap off.
sethmorgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 10:10 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 72
Default

Condensate only drains when blower stops


I would like to know why is there such old posts left on this site.That seems kinda shall we say a waste of everybodys time? If the post is that old why leave it up there.Im sure the people that posted it definitly got there answers Im sure.Anyway it seems a waste of timwe to post on something thats that old.
1mastertech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 04:29 AM   #30
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,800
Default

Condensate only drains when blower stops


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1mastertech View Post
I would like to know why is there such old posts left on this site.That seems kinda shall we say a waste of everybodys time? If the post is that old why leave it up there.Im sure the people that posted it definitly got there answers Im sure.Anyway it seems a waste of timwe to post on something thats that old.
Because many people do a search for the answer to their problem, and find the answer in old post, instead of having to ask the same question in a new thread.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Plus 90 - No Blower Ducaticorse HVAC 11 10-16-2012 08:39 PM
Heat comes on but blower never does aczer HVAC 12 02-13-2011 06:57 AM
Bryant Gas Furnace - blower sarts and stops montepix HVAC 7 12-24-2009 04:11 PM
Carrier 58MXA Wiring Blower Switch 63012753 HVAC 0 10-06-2009 09:09 PM
KNOWLEDGABLE condensate advice needed Nestor_Kelebay HVAC 5 11-23-2008 07:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.