Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-18-2009, 10:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

concord 80 plus furnace, pressure switch issue


I have a concord model cg80ua075d12a-1 furnace that just stopped working, it is about 4 yrs old and has been great till now... It has a flashing light that blinks 3 times and according to the panel it says the error is Pressure switch open, should be closed... Please help me figure this out, its cold in ohio here these days... almost record cold!!!!

p3axm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 10:40 PM   #2
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

concord 80 plus furnace, pressure switch issue


That could be from several diferent causes. Plugged chimney CO poising potential, Draft induser may not be running. The pressure switch hose could have water in it. or the port the pressure switch hose connects to could have debri in it. The last 2 are the most common or easyest for the home owner to check.

1 last thing could be a bad psi switch

JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 10:43 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

concord 80 plus furnace, pressure switch issue


Where do I look to check it?? There is a humidifier attach to it... could that cause the issue??? was running great till tonight....
p3axm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 10:50 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

concord 80 plus furnace, pressure switch issue


I assume that the Draft induser is the smaller blower that appears to go to the chimney... it clicks to try and come on but does not... it does not spin freely at all... can this be my issue???
Update - Being the intuitive person I am, I figured out where the pressure switch, the line to it, and the draft induser were... Safety precaution were used, turn breaker off to the furnace and turn switch off... and used common sense.. as stated above, the draft induser fan did not spin freely... I figured out how to remove it to see if it was a bearing or maybe a fan that got bent stuck or otherwise... and to my surprise, I found what was left of a starling in the end of the draft induser... I just removed it, and am putting it back together now to see if it worked... I'll post when done....
Update 2 - Unlike the bird I removed, my furnace is now working properly... the kids are warm, the wife is happy and I am the hero.... for tonight... But I could never have fixed it without your help... thank you ever so much... I took a picture of it before I removed the bird... I posted it to my album.... I will inspect the chimney tomorrow and ensure that there is no way another Firebird can come in...

Last edited by p3axm3; 01-18-2009 at 11:57 PM.
p3axm3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
goodman pressure switch error 3 blinks mrbac HVAC 4 03-11-2013 11:43 PM
Ruud Furnace issue grubslinger HVAC 16 09-14-2011 12:13 AM
Furnace Kill Switch Sophist HVAC 15 12-31-2008 12:53 PM
Comfortmaker Furnace GUH Series Issue Ghengis Jon HVAC 8 03-01-2007 02:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.