Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-16-2010, 12:49 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 199
Share |
Default

compressor wants to start but won't


Hey I have a unit that had no freon in it. I checked and found a hole in the lines. I repair the leak and put about 1.5 pounds of freon in it. I also added a super start cap to the comp. You can hear it wanting to start but will not start - even with the extra cap. Is this thing just locked up and bad? There is a low pressure switch on the unit, so I would think it shut the comp off before damage was done. How do I get more freon in the unit if the comp wont run?

Thanks for the help.

wetbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 05:07 AM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,600
Default

compressor wants to start but won't


did you have oil around that leak you repaired?if so might need a cup of refer oil if you pulled a vacuum you would of been easier to go right to the liquid line flip the can of freon and let it fill the LL up then start it.if you give the compressor contactor a quick push in does the compressor run?..if it humms it is locked up

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 06:16 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,382
Default

compressor wants to start but won't


Did you pull a vacuum on the system before you tried to put refrigerant back into it?
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 07:04 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 199
Default

compressor wants to start but won't


I did not see oil around the hole. I did pull a vaccuum, and it held for at least 20 min. The compersor will click in then click out, but it does not hum. The contactor stays in but it will not run.
wetbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 08:32 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 291
Default

compressor wants to start but won't


Quote:
Originally Posted by wetbar View Post
The compersor will click in then click out, but it does not hum. The contactor stays in but it will not run.
Are you sure the capacitor arrangement is correct?

I'd return the capacitor arrangement to the way it was right before the leak and see if it runs.

Why does a simple leak repair require a "super start cap"?

If the contactor is staying engaged then what's clicking in and out? Is it the starting relay?
hennyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 08:43 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 199
Default

compressor wants to start but won't


no the compressor tries to kick on, when it can't it clicks off. Yes the cap is going across the brown herm and the common of the cap.
wetbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 09:07 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 291
Default

compressor wants to start but won't


Quote:
Originally Posted by wetbar View Post
no the compressor tries to kick on, when it can't it clicks off. Yes the cap is going across the brown herm and the common of the cap.
I would pull the disconnect and make sure the LV control system is functioning 100% correctly. Does the contactor stay engaged?

If not, will it stay engaged with pressure switches bypassed?

Now remove the extra cap (ie return it to stock condition where it was known to be running fine) and re-connect the disconnect and see what happens.

If the clicking out is the actual contactor then I'd think the problem is the protection circuitry (LP, HP, etc) or the contactor itself.

Could the original cap be bad if it's still in the circuit? I don't think your super start cap will function properly if it's in the circuit with a bad cap.

What kind of system is it? How long did it sit without refrigerant? How old is it?

Can you ohm out the compressor?

Good luck

Last edited by hennyh; 06-16-2010 at 09:11 AM.
hennyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 12:06 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 199
Default

compressor wants to start but won't


The contactor is working corectly. It stays in all the time. The fan runs all the time. It sat without freon for at least 3 days and the unit is 6 years old. I have not tried ohming the compressor yet.
wetbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 01:05 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 199
Default

compressor wants to start but won't


Ok I'm here now. Cap is good but I put a new one on. Contractor is pulled in, it tries to start and bums. Hums for 5 seconds that shuts off. Tries again to start and Hums for 5 sec then cuts offf

There are 4.1 oh in-between the common cap wire and the blue wire going to compressor. 3 ohms between same blue wire and ground (black wire from compressor),and 1.1 between the cap common and the black ground.

Last edited by wetbar; 06-16-2010 at 01:54 PM.
wetbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 04:40 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,382
Default

compressor wants to start but won't


There is no ground wire on the compressor.

Your ohms add up as they should.

Did you use a scale to determine that you only put 1.5 pounds of refrigerant in the system?
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 06:04 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 199
Default

compressor wants to start but won't


yes I used a scale. then when I pulled out the freon I used a scale again and it measured the same 1.5. The black wire goes the the contactor, I said ground but yeah it is the other side of the 240 V. The one thing I did not do is remove the black wire from the contactor before I measures the resistance.
wetbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 06:36 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

compressor wants to start but won't


Check the amp draw when it tries to start. If it's wired correctly, not liquid slugged and the capacitor is good then you have a locked rotor.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 12:28 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 199
Default

compressor wants to start but won't


Check the amp draw on what wire? what does locked rotor mean?
wetbar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 06:15 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

compressor wants to start but won't


Common wire on the compressor,almost always black colored. Locked rotor means the compressor is seized. Look on the units name plate for the LRA rating.

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Air Compressor blowing start capacitors? BBC3 Electrical 9 04-28-2013 11:34 AM
Troy-Bilt 2-Cycle Gas Trimmer Will Not Start g8tkeeper Tools 2 08-26-2009 08:26 AM
Troy-Bilt 2-Cycle Gas Trimmer Will Not Start g8tkeeper Landscaping & Lawn Care 3 08-13-2009 10:58 AM
Brand new PAYNE PG9MAB won't start . Error code 12 tp618 HVAC 3 12-19-2008 09:21 PM
Blue smoke at start up, and shudder at idle fauer Automotive Repairs 6 08-22-2008 11:39 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.