Compressor Stopped. - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2011, 10:01 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Compressor stopped.


Well no surprise everyone around here is very busy so it is going to be the middle of next week at the earliest before someone else can come look at my unit.

It has worked all weekend with no problems at all. Is it truly a bad compressor if it works sometimes and sometimes it doesn't? Is that a sign of a compressor that is on its last leg, or is it a sign that there is something else wrong?

I just want a little better understanding of what is going on when someone else comes to look at it.

Advertisement

TJ198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 05:01 AM   #17
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,521
Rewards Points: 4,682
Default

Compressor stopped.


If its worked all weekend, its not the compressor.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2011, 12:46 PM   #18
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

Compressor stopped.


You might want to check the breaker. Sounds like it could be loose or going bad.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 06:19 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Compressor stopped.


Well finally got another guy out and he just left. Of course he was here for over an hour and the unit ran fine the entire time. He said it was about 2lbs. low on refrigerant so he added that. He tested the capacitor and switches and said everything tested ok. If it continues to act up he said he would recommend he come back and add a hard start kit to it. We'll see.
TJ198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 06:39 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Compressor stopped.


Of course less than 30 minutes since he left it is doing it again. Had been cooling fine and then compressor goes out and no cool air blowing, just room temperature air. Fan on top of unit is still going. Just my luck.
TJ198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 09:21 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Compressor stopped.


This may be a stupid question but......

Is it possible the problem could be in the thermostat? It is almost like it is getting to the set temp and then it is cutting the a/c off and leaving the fan on. Then it is turning the fan on and no the a/c. Probably not but just thought I would ask.

The thermostat I have is the old non digital kind. Has the arm on the side that you move up and down to adjust temp, and switches on the bottom. I asked the tech about getting a digital and he said I needed one that was for 2 heat and one cool. I looked at Lowe's tonight but didn't see one that said anything. Any recommendations on a thermostat?
TJ198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2011, 11:22 PM   #22
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,521
Rewards Points: 4,682
Default

Compressor stopped.


If the condenser fan is running. the thermostat could be short cycling the unit and causing the compressor to trip its internal over load.

A thermostat with a built in 5 minute delay would help, along with a hard start kit.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 04:21 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Compressor stopped.


I did not realize I never updated this thread. The guy came out and installed a hard start kit and it has worked fine ever since. knock on wood....

Question now is I would like to install a programmable thermostat. I bought one several years ago but the wires didn't match up and when I called the manufacturers to ask why they said they did not make one that would work with my wiring. Can anyone tell by the numbers below what I need and make a recommendation? I think someone told me I need a single air and two/dual stage heat thermostat.?



Quote:
Originally Posted by TJ198 View Post
Couldn't really make out all of the serial number but from what I could tell:

Armstrong unit model # PHP 10B42DA
Serial # 2A5499B19186

Compressor is a Copeland serial # 98JC5707H

Again, some of these numbers could be wrong, so if they don't make sense that is why.
TJ198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 05:11 PM   #24
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,521
Rewards Points: 4,682
Default

Compressor stopped.


Honeywell TH6220 or better.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
TJ198 (10-07-2012)
Old 10-07-2012, 10:57 AM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Compressor stopped.


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Honeywell TH6220 or better.


Thanks for the information. Is anything with a number above 6220 considered better?
TJ198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 11:00 AM   #26
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,521
Rewards Points: 4,682
Default

Compressor stopped.


Yes, as long as its X2XX As in 6320, 8220. Any thing with an X1XX is single stage heat.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 11:06 AM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Compressor stopped.


Great information. Thanks!

Advertisement

TJ198 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts