Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-04-2011, 04:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Compressor concerns


can you replace a compressor that is in a matching 410a system 13seer, recover old refridgerant, vacume lines for 1 hour, and then charge with R-22?. i had my compressor replaced and i know it was 410 and the the tech who replaced it did told me it was 22. everything is ok, so far i guess. i dont know a little bit but nothing in this nature.

any ideas??

airtech77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 04:36 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 375
Default

Compressor concerns


yeah i'm pretty sure without a flush and cleaning of the lines you can't do that. the oil used by the two refrigerants are different and do not mix and any residual that was left over in the lines will be mixed in with the R22 oil. not sure how soon or when you will see problems, but i imagine it will wear out your compressor a lot faster.

NitroNate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 04:39 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Compressor concerns


ok. so an evac of the system,flush,new vacume and filter dryer and fresh 410 will do the trick?
airtech77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 04:55 PM   #4
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Compressor concerns


Here are the products you need to use to properly to flush your system

http://www.rectorseal.com/index.php?...1&product_id=2

http://www.rectorseal.com/index.php?...roduct_id=2107
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 05:05 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 375
Default

Compressor concerns


looks like it is ok to mix a small amount of POE with mineral oil in an R22 system and it may actually help in oil return. the other way around will not work because mineral oil is not compatible with R410A or any HFC, but i even visited copeland's website and they say that POE and MO can be mixed in CFC or HCFC applications.
NitroNate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 05:09 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,930
Default

Compressor concerns


What the heck are we talking about here. R22 and 410 have COMPLETELY different operating pressures and are not interchangeable nor are the compressors. Check the rating plate on your outdoor unit to see if it is a 410 unit.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 05:15 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Compressor concerns


so u can completly charge a 410a system with 22 b/c the design pressures are different, 22's are lower than 410a's
airtech77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 05:25 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Compressor concerns


If it's a 410 system tell the guy to come back and do it right, for free of course. Somebody mess up big time on that one.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 05:31 PM   #9
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 431
Default

Compressor concerns


I would get the wrong refrigerant out of that system ASAP, they are not compatible. I wouldn't worry about any flushing because there has been no cross contamination of oil............unless an r22 compressor was put in, instead of r410
Technow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 05:58 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Compressor concerns


I think that's what happened technow. System was 410a and somebody put a 22 compressor in and charged it with 22. How would you like to be the next guy to work on that one?
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 06:38 PM   #11
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 431
Default

Compressor concerns


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
I think that's what happened technow. System was 410a and somebody put a 22 compressor in and charged it with 22. How would you like to be the next guy to work on that one?
Actually....I would rather be the next guy than the one that did it

Technow is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.