Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-26-2011, 03:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

compresser oil


Should oil in an A c comp be changed (poe or min) if so how often keep in mind there r no burn outs or could u check the acid levels to see if it needs to be changes

steiner111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 05:18 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,914
Default

compresser oil


Never. It is a completely hermetic sealed system and you cannot access it to change it or check it.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 05:29 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Default

compresser oil


The comp is and open type comp where u have acess to change the oil the filiter dryer was changed as far as basic rule if there is no problems is there a rule for changing the oil or should it be left alone
steiner111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 06:56 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,914
Default

compresser oil


is it in a refrigeration system and what kind
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 07:09 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,389
Default

compresser oil


As above, is this an A/C or refrigeration system. Acid level can be checked without draining or changing oil.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 09:17 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Default

compresser oil


so bascially if u check the acid level in the system to make sure it is not high and change your filiter dryer u should be ok? what iam trying to ask is that (poe or min) oil is not the same as changeing oil in a car where as it breaks down and after time u have to change it as long as your level is good your system is dry u should be ok? Iam dealing with an ref 404a and also an a c system r 22
steiner111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 09:24 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
Default

compresser oil


Thank u for your help everyone has a diff answer for as changeing oil in a comp Ialways felt as long as the system was dry the acid levels were not high, your oil level was correct and u werent dealing with a burnout u were ok just wanted to get some input on that,as far as dealing with ref or a c r 22 404a or 134a poe or mineral does that mater in your opion? Thank u
steiner111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2011, 04:22 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,389
Default

compresser oil


An refrigerant containing system is a closed system. No air or other contaminants get in it from normal use. So it doesn't need changed like a engine's oil does.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
installing an air compresser demarco tim Electrical 1 11-22-2010 07:35 PM
compresser unit running ok, try's to restart Pat33019 HVAC 2 09-25-2009 11:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.