Compatible A/C Unit - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2012, 11:51 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 37
Default

Compatible A/C Unit


I am buying a home and unfortunately the condenser was stolen and some copper lines. Luckily the inspector took pictures and I was able to get the model number.

GSC130481

I was wondering if it is as simple as ordering a new version of this? Mine was actually called an Everrest but it was just the rebranded Goodman. It was produced in 2007....I was just wondering if there would be incompatibilities or if newer units use different coolant.

I found these 3 units:

http://www.theacoutlet.com/GSC130481.htm

http://www.theacoutlet.com/GSC130483.htm

Both seem to be the same except for the 2 phase....any way to tell which would be best or work?


Thanks,
Steven Penny

Advertisement

01grander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 12:38 PM   #2
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Compatible A/C Unit


Get the model and serial number of furnace for better cross reference.

Advertisement

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 06:19 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,454
Rewards Points: 4,554
Default

Compatible A/C Unit


A compatible Goodman dry R22 unit is still made today.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
plummen (06-25-2012)
Old 06-26-2012, 12:12 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 37
Default

Compatible A/C Unit


Good to know. How do you tell the differnce between a gas furnace and a air handler? The serial number isn't visible and I cant tell which one it is. I don't think I have a furnace anywhere else but I am not sure.

Sorry for sounding incredibly stupid but I've never had to deal with a HVAC system before so I don't know by looking at it.
01grander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 12:32 PM   #5
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

Compatible A/C Unit


A gas furnace would have a metal exhaust pipe running from it and out through the roof, like a long vehicle muffler pipe.

Air handlers utilze electric heat strips, no exhaust.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 03:39 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,454
Rewards Points: 4,554
Default

Compatible A/C Unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
A gas furnace would have a metal exhaust pipe running from it and out through the roof, like a long vehicle muffler pipe.

Air handlers utilze electric heat strips, no exhaust.
or a gas furnace could have a PVC vent pipe going out the roof, or the wall.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 04:23 PM   #7
Member
 
bubbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Shore MA
Posts: 481
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Compatible A/C Unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by 01grander View Post
I found these 3 units:

http://www.theacoutlet.com/GSC130481.htm

http://www.theacoutlet.com/GSC130483.htm

Both seem to be the same except for the 2 phase....any way to tell which would be best or work?
Nobody mentioned it yet, but obviously you'd only get the 3-phase if you had 3-phase power available. Since this is residence, you almost certainly don't have it.

...another thing is to consider what your end goal here is. Are you planning to DIY this install, or just trying to figure out what is possible and figure some materials costs? DIY seems like a stretch. This seems like a case where getting multiple bids from local contractors would make the most sense.

Advertisement

__________________
My advice is based on anecdotal knowledge or personal experience. I'm not a professional no matter how matter of factly I may say something

Last edited by bubbler; 06-26-2012 at 04:26 PM.
bubbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruud Pack unit "KABOOMS" upon First Light Up of the Day! Wirenut2tite HVAC 18 12-15-2012 11:11 AM
Had an Aire-Flo AC installed, looking for opinions mikemcd HVAC 14 08-01-2011 05:07 AM
new r-410a ac unit installation procedure(w/old unit r-22)? excalibur1 HVAC 0 06-06-2011 04:47 PM
Window A/C Unit and Supplying Power JayEnder Electrical 1 04-30-2011 08:50 PM
Can I upgrade the compressor in my RV roof AC unit? eoptrab HVAC 10 09-02-2010 05:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts