Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2013, 05:35 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 19
Share |
Default

Commercial freezer Grounding/Neutral help


Hi, I have a 115v, 15.8 amp Commercial Freezer with a 5-20p plug. The Freezer is plugged into a dedicated 20 amp receptacle with 12 AWG wired directly to a 20 amp breaker in the main service breaker. In the Main Breaker Box the Neutral and Grounding bars are all connected as one.(not seperated). I was informed that for a 240v freezer that the Ground and Neutral must be seperated. My question is, is this so for a 115v Freezer?
As of now the 115V freezer is wired to the main and the Neutral and Ground are tied together. Is this wrong? This is a new install and the freezer runs fine, but will eventually trip the breaker. I am new here and would appreciate any help/advice.

LFYN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 06:02 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,656
Default

Commercial freezer Grounding/Neutral help


Quote:
Originally Posted by LFYN View Post
In the Main Breaker Box the Neutral and Grounding bars are all connected as one. I was informed...
Find OTHER sources for information.
Whatever that person may know about... it ain't this.

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TarheelTerp For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (02-05-2013)
Old 02-05-2013, 06:19 PM   #3
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,656
Default

Commercial freezer Grounding/Neutral help


Quote:
Originally Posted by LFYN View Post
I have a Commercial Freezer, it is 115V, 15.8 Amps. ...
The Freezer is a new install and runs fine but... it eventually trips the breaker.
Can you define what "eventually" means?
Have you noticed *anything* else happening when the breaker trips?

On a dedicated circuit (with nothing else on it) it should be fine.
Check the basic work done. Loose connections in particular.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 06:29 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 19
Default

Commercial freezer Grounding/Neutral help


Thank you for replying. Eventually meaning that the freezer will run Approximately 4-6 hrs down to a preset temp, -4 or -6 not sure. Then the next time I notice it its off and the breaker tripped. I have not witness it happen just after the fact. Had a refrigeration tech check out the freezer, everything checked out. Then when the breaker popped again, made me start thinking about the wiring/ breaker, etc.
LFYN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 06:36 PM   #5
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Commercial freezer Grounding/Neutral help


Have you been onsite when the breaker has tripped? If so, what was the unit doing at the time it tripped? Was the compressor starting?
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 06:48 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 19
Default

Commercial freezer Grounding/Neutral help


Hi, and thanks for responding. No I haven't witnessed it when it trips. I know it will run for approximately 5-6 hours down to a preset temp -4 or -6 not sure. Then the next thing I know it's off and the breaker tripped. Maybe went into defrost mode or coming out. Had a refrigeration tech check out just the freezer yesterday, but not the wiring. The freezer checked out everything was in spec. I think it was drawing 11.4 amps while it was cooling and 8.4 amps when in Def. mode. So after he left it popped again a few hours later, so now thinking something with the wiring/ground/breaker, etc.
LFYN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 06:58 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 122
Default

Commercial freezer Grounding/Neutral help


Quote:
Originally Posted by LFYN View Post
Hi, and thanks for responding. No I haven't witnessed it when it trips. I know it will run for approximately 5-6 hours down to a preset temp -4 or -6 not sure. Then the next thing I know it's off and the breaker tripped. Maybe went into defrost mode or coming out. Had a refrigeration tech check out just the freezer yesterday, but not the wiring. The freezer checked out everything was in spec. I think it was drawing 11.4 amps while it was cooling and 8.4 amps when in Def. mode. So after he left it popped again a few hours later, so now thinking something with the wiring/ground/breaker, etc.
Is the breaker warm or hot? The connection to the main bussbar could cause heat and trip as a result. Tried a different breaker?
64pvolvo1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 07:06 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Commercial freezer Grounding/Neutral help


Merged your threads, please don't make duplicate threads, thank you.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 07:07 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Commercial freezer Grounding/Neutral help


How many defrost cycles is thje defrost clock set to.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 07:08 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 19
Default

Commercial freezer Grounding/Neutral help


Wasn't sure where it belonged, and how do you merge them? Thanks for the help
LFYN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 07:11 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 19
Default

Commercial freezer Grounding/Neutral help


It's a preset digital controller. I'm not exactly sure how many cycles and the intervals, but I will try and find out. Thanks
LFYN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 07:12 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Commercial freezer Grounding/Neutral help


Quote:
Originally Posted by LFYN View Post
Wasn't sure where it belonged, and how do you merge them? Thanks for the help
I have more things on my screen then you do, or atleast more of the tabs work for me. I'm one of the moderators of the site. Just forgot to leave that note.

Your post was fitting for either forum. Just now allowed to be in both. No biggie.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 07:16 PM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Commercial freezer Grounding/Neutral help


Quote:
Originally Posted by LFYN View Post
It's a preset digital controller. I'm not exactly sure how many cycles and the intervals, but I will try and find out. Thanks
With it tripping the breaker after 6 hours, sound like a 6 hour defrost interval, or 4 defrost a day, which is appropriate for a below 0F freezer. It could be your defrost time is too long, and making the evap too hot, so the compressor is over worked coming out of defrost. And tripping the breaker.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2013, 07:17 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 19
Default

Commercial freezer Grounding/Neutral help


Yes The first breaker was a quad. I then added a single 20A High Magnetic breaker for appliances and this still tripped. Didn't check to see if breaker was warm. It always pops when I'm not right there, so not sure how long it was off before I notice. Guess I will get a chair and babysit it next time to see exactly what it was doing when it trips, then I can check the breaker to see if its warm.
LFYN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2013, 08:27 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 19
Default

Commercial freezer Grounding/Neutral help


http://www.commercial-freezers-coole...ectronics.html

The part of this article I am questioning starts at half way down the page.

This is my source for originally posting my question. Any comments or suggestions? Seems that they are speaking about 230v. So once again does this also apply to a 115v?. If anyone knows please respond. Thank you

P.S. I did email the website with this question still waiting for reply.


Last edited by LFYN; 02-06-2013 at 08:36 AM. Reason: Add info
LFYN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Refrig. not enough cooling top (freezer) or bottom bottom justplumducky Appliances 6 11-19-2012 10:19 AM
kenmore fridge too warm, freezer iced up tarbash11 Appliances 5 06-30-2011 10:32 PM
Kenmore 596 bottom freezer cold top warm klimshelf HVAC 2 03-30-2011 08:32 AM
Freezer odors - coming from blower/fan Richo Appliances 3 05-27-2009 05:26 PM
Freezer leaking into Fridge? jc2709 Appliances 1 05-23-2007 09:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.