Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-18-2008, 07:17 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Share |
Question

Comfortmaker Won't power on at all!


Hello all please help we have already dished out so much on repairs for this furnance.

Here's the stroy.

We had a rod hole leak in our basement into the outlet for our sumppump, so the water proofing guy turned off the fuse box swith for that outlet and when he did it also power down our furnace. NO big deal right. Well when we flicked the fuse box switch back on the sumppump outlet worked, the humidifier outlet worked, but NOW the furnance won't power on. Nothing will. From the themostat we can't EVEN get the fan to turn on when we go from auto to on, the furnace won't kick on the blower the little click noise nothing, the ac won't even kick on. It is like there is no power running to the system at all!!!! DOesn't make sense because everything else on that fuse switch is on and working fine.

We tried turning the furnace switch on and off without any success. And then we even tried to flip the main fuse box switch. Bad idea! We couldn't get the power in the whole house to come back for like 10-15 minutes, very scary.

Anyways can anyone help? Any ideas?

Thank you
Danielle and Nick

shalt78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2008, 04:23 PM   #2
Member
 
HvacWiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 286
Default

Comfortmaker Won't power on at all!


Check the fuse inside your furnace on/off switch if you have one in there, verify if you have 120v to furnace, if so your circuit board may have fried.

HvacWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2008, 08:15 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Comfortmaker Won't power on at all!


I broke down and called the furnace guy. $75 to tighten a screw in the furnace that was causing a wire to be loose stopping everything from working. HOw switching off the fuse box and the loose srew were related???? So $75 to tighten a screw Better than $5000 for a new system which is what another guy tried to tell me I needed.

THanks
Danielle
shalt78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I get power to a new ceiling fan? sestivers Electrical 12 04-25-2011 02:11 PM
Power inverter AndrewL Electrical 6 03-02-2008 01:43 PM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.