Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-30-2009, 03:27 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ2 Draft Inducer


Hello,
I posted a thread about two weeks ago about my Comfortmaker, and thought that the problem with my furnace was the blower wheel, but I found out that the part that's trashed is the Inducer.

I was wondering how I would go about installing that assembly, because there are no existing wires from the Inducer motor that I can splice with the wires that are already present in the furnace unit. The motor has two metal tabs from the bottom, and I don't know which wires go to which tab.

Thanks

nuclearjesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 05:50 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ2 Draft Inducer


I installed the draft inducer, and the guy that sold me the part said that the polarity of the wires shouldn't matter, so the wires should be okay no matter what (if anything, it would just turn the motor the other way). Now, I checked everything except for the 3amp fuse on the circuit board, and it all seems normal. I reset my thermostat, turned the gas valve on, and I turned the switch on that turns the furnace unit on and off.

However, the entire unit now will not start up. The inducer is not turning on (which should be the first thing that does), and the burner is not glowing. I need help!

My furnace is a Comfortmaker RPJ2, model number: GUI075A012IN.

Thanks

nuclearjesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 07:41 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ2 Draft Inducer


Do you have a meter to check voltage? If so step one is make sure there's high voltage coming in. Step two is check red to common for 24 volts. Step three would be check common to white with the thermostat calling for heat,should read 24 volts. We'll start there.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Draft Inducer Blower Not Blowing- LED Blinking 3 Times rust101 HVAC 10 04-09-2013 08:44 PM
Pressure Switch, Draft Inducer, Burner Box, Problem majorapus HVAC 7 10-25-2009 06:14 PM
Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement Kdavid HVAC 53 03-27-2009 02:10 PM
How do I test my draft inducer? ryansturmer HVAC 9 10-20-2008 07:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.