Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-24-2010, 06:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ II Pressure Switch


I have got a Comfortmaker RPJ II Enviro Plus 90 furnace that has been acting flaky. I just replaced the induction blower, it started making off balance noises. And after removing it off I found that it very off balance was and the turbine was cracked). I also have issues with the furnace not starting up on every try. The induction blower will run and eventually turn off and try later. I've found the the system flashes 3 (pressure switch open). The next time it might fire right up.
If I let the induction blow start and remove the rubber tube from the inlet of the pressure switch (the tube the runs to the combustion box) the 3 flashes stop and the furnace fires right up, stays running until the house reaches temp.
I only disconnect the tube until the 3 flashes stop and reconnect.
I'm guessing it's the pressure switch not hold position, I've checked and all the tubes are clear.
Neither the intake or exhaust for the induction blower are blocked.
Any ideas?

hansolos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 06:28 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,417
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ II Pressure Switch


On the back of the old inducer there usually is a restrictor plastic orifice plate. It needs to be installed on the new one or it won't suck properly. They can crack and get damaged but apparently are available. The pressure switch is doing its job as a SAFETY device and monitoring the draft thru the heat exchanger. NEVER EVER tamper with it or you could have a flamerollout/fire/damaged furnace!

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 06:41 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ II Pressure Switch


Roger that!
I do have a small plastic ring that looks to be roughly the same diameter as the inlet on the induction blow, but I have no way of connecting it to it. There were tiny plastic... rivots the broke apart. Guess I'll have to find an alternative.
Thanks for the heads up and quick response.
hansolos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 06:50 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,417
Rewards Points: 38
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ II Pressure Switch


Apparently you can order that orifice from ICP/Comfortmaker. Cheap, cheesy POS that orifice but thats life.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Older air compressor wiring help lash-1295 Electrical 91 12-23-2009 12:46 PM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 03:06 PM
Could a failed condensor fan raise pressure/trip high pressure limit switch? (Rheem) hennyh HVAC 6 07-30-2009 02:04 PM
New Pressure Switch -- low water pressure chach Plumbing 4 01-18-2009 09:50 PM
pressure switch on pump radams3141 Plumbing 2 04-30-2008 07:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.