Comfortmaker RPJ II Ignites Then Shuts Off? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-11-2009, 03:16 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 75
Question

Comfortmaker RPJ II Ignites then shuts off?

Hello, I am a mechanic who is normally surfing the internet on car forums.

Anyway, I have a Comfortmaker RJ II that has been having some problems. When I first turn on the heat it will work fine for about an hour and heat up the house.

After that it will kick on the smaller fan, heat up the element, and then ignite the gas. I see blue flames shooting in three cylinders, almost immedialy after that the furnace will shut off the gas, the flame goes out, but the little fan keeps running. I can turn the big blower fan on with the thermostat so I figure the blower is not smoked.

I see a small sensor that runs down thru the flame path on the 1st left "Flame Hole" (My laymans term). I am wondering if this sensor could be the problem?

I recently replaced the filter as I always do before turning it on for the season. It will turn on and off freequently. Usually no more than a 1 minute break between fire off's and shut downs.

I am hoping someone can help me here, I am mechaniclly inclined and enjoy this sort of thing. I am going to take some photos of the unit as I dont see many photos out there.

Thanks.

Edit - When I went to take the photo the darn thing stayed lit! LOL
It just figures, the furnace must know! Anyway I know its not fixed, but something is on the fritz.
Attached Images

Advertisement

Last edited by SELLC; 10-11-2009 at 03:43 AM.
SELLC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 03:50 AM   #2

Okay. Its back to doing the same thing.