Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-05-2010, 12:56 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: new york
Posts: 1
Share |
Question

Comfortmaker RPJ-II


I have the same furnace and there is a flashing red light that flashes 6 times. My furnace turns on, all flames come out of the three pipes and then shut right off. I am freezing, with over a foot of snow outside I need help.

firebug2110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 11:27 AM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ-II


i know this is an old thread, but maybe someone will help
my furnace exhaust fan will turn on, ignition coil heats up, gas lights, but then it runs for a LONG time and never turns on the blower fan. i have heard that the sensor for the fan might be a three pin radiant heat sensor, and no longer available. is this what i need, or is there a window i have to clean or something? thanks
caribeso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 11:33 AM   #18
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,898
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ-II


post 2 pics of it with both doors off. that unit should have a circuit board that turns on the fan or a fan timer circuit board in the fan compartment. if the fan does not start then either may be bad or the fan motor or capacitor is shot. does the fan run when you turn it to ON at the thermostat if you have AC. that furnace is very prone to cracked heat exchangers and the copper rivets that hold it together popping and causing the same problem. not worth spending a lot of $$ on repairs IMO. google cracked heat exchanger>Images.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 02:00 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ-II


it definitely works with the fan in the on position on the thermostat

well, as i poked around, i noticed a loose wire on the top little control box. in the first photo 3414 it is the bottom fat wire on number 3. there is a chance that i pulled it off, b/c i had taken the hi limit sensor out to test it. [btw it tested closed, and when i put a lighter to it it went open, so i guessed it was OK]. so i tried to put the loose wire i found in the bottom slot of number 2, which didn't help. when i switched it to the bottom position as in the current photo, heater worked, but i had also done some other things (like replace batteries in thermostat..). however, i doubt i pulled that wire loose when i was messing with the sensor, b/c once you put it on one of those terminals, it is pretty hard to remove. so maybe this wire was just barely sitting on the terminal to begin with, accounting for intermittent operation. i noticed in another person's post about intermittent hoodoos in his furnace.

one good thing that came out of all of this is i noticed that the pop out panel on the bottom of the heater had partially popped, and the heater doesn't sit directly on a flat surface, so maybe i was pulling in cold unfiltered air from the attic. fixed it with a bit of foil tape.

i certainly hope i don't have to replace this whole furnace, it is in the attic of a 100 year old house, with only a SMALL access panel up into the attic. not really sure how they got this one up there unless they did it during renovation.

so how do you know if your heat exchangers are cracked without taking the whole thing apart? gas exhaust smell coming thru the vents?

thanks for your help
Attached Thumbnails
Comfortmaker RPJ-II-img_3414.jpg   Comfortmaker RPJ-II-img_3421.jpg   Comfortmaker RPJ-II-img_3416.jpg   Comfortmaker RPJ-II-img_3412.jpg   Comfortmaker RPJ-II-img_3420.jpg  

caribeso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2013, 02:40 PM   #20
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,898
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ-II


when they crack then flames will start coming out the front and there is a rollout switch above the burners that shuts it off. by then the furnace is unsafe. pulling the fan out and checking for missing copper rings laying in there is one method. the other is cutting a hole in the plenum and an EXPERIENCED tech will know where those exchangers fail at the bottom and where there is a burn pattern. I have a method of putting a digital thermometer by the rollout switch and starting the unit. after 5 mins if it is cracked then the temp by it will rise quickly to close to 300F and that indicates it is cracked and further checking is required. requires quite a bit of skill to know where to put that thermometer to not get a false reading etc. it's days are numbered. if it lasts the winter it may be a good idea to replace it next summer.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 12-10-2013 at 02:44 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
caribeso (12-10-2013)
Old 12-31-2013, 12:21 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ-II


this thing is starting to really piss me off.
sometimes the exhaust fan runs, sometimes the glow plug lights up, sometimes the burners ignite, sometimes the blower fan comes on, but all in different combos. it does work at least 50% of the time, tho i think it seems to take a long time after burners ignite for the blower to come on if it does, about 2 or 3 minutes. sometimes the blower goes without any heat at all. sometimes the glow plugs are glowing but burners don't ignite (i slammed the side of the furnace in frustration once and sure as hell they ignited, not sure it was a co-incidence..)
is this a messed up circuit board or something?
multiple sensors messed up?
goblins in the attic?
caribeso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 02:48 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 205
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ-II


I am very familiar with your furnace caribeso and I can confirm that it can be frustrating. It sounds to me like its the control board and, if im not mistaken they don't make that board anymore. The replacement board is a universal board and is time consuming to install. You may want to call in a pro on this one. Installing the new board will require the ability to trace control circuits and install on the correct pins on the new board.
Good luck.
Patrick Eubanks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2013, 02:53 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ-II


ug. i think i read that somewhere else, that this wasn't the greatest furnace ever made, and mostly discontinued. trouble is, it works now n then on heat, and no problems with AC. yet...
and is in the attic of a tall old 2 story thru a NARROW hatch. almost worth going up there every morning and give it a kick to get it started... :-)
thx for reply, even tho not so good news...

caribeso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comfortmaker blower intermittent problem jh44ny HVAC 12 07-31-2011 06:41 PM
'93 Comfortmaker RPJ propane furnace lifespan? Dawsonhope HVAC 5 11-21-2008 05:47 AM
Is my Comfortmaker electric furance toast? Nels0213 HVAC 1 02-07-2008 06:04 PM
comfortmaker pilot lights but not burner jasonzzz HVAC 6 01-28-2008 11:20 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.