Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-01-2007, 06:06 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ - 1 Flash - Nothing ON


The motor is a sealed bearing and has "permenant lubrication". So there is nothing to oil.

I can't get to the hot and neutral at the motor with my leads. I am unable to pull the motor tonight as it seems to take a socket between the ones I have.

I traced the wires from the motor to the controller. I disconnected the wires and monitored the pins from the controller. All I get across the pins are 0.2 VAC. I monitored while my wife changed the set points for me ON and OFF. It stayed pegged at 0.2VAC.

Is there another way to measure the voltage that is easier?

My concern is that you guys suspect the induce draft motor, but I don't seem to have any output from the controller. But, if there was something wrong with the controller internally, I should see a solid light according to the manual.

Since the motor is not turning and therefore not changing the pressure enough for the pressure switch, I should see 2 flashes for stuck open or 3 flashes for stuck closed according to the manual. But I don't. Would this point to the controller too?

Once again thanks for the help

olgranddad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 06:36 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: grand rapids
Posts: 124
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ - 1 Flash - Nothing ON


Make sure that the safety switch on the bottom door is closed while testing. .If you have 24 volts from w to c on your control board,i would then see if you have power to the two leads going to the ventor motor.make sure the thermostat is calling for heat while doing test
trollmastergeneral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 06:41 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ - 1 Flash - Nothing ON


I had the safety switch closed. I traced the wires back to IND and IND N. Across these wires I have no voltage at the pins of the controller when heat is called for.

What is W and C? I don't see anything like that on my controller. I do see W and RC on my thermostat, but I wouldn't know how to get the voltage without taking the thermostat off.

Last edited by olgranddad; 01-01-2007 at 07:10 PM.
olgranddad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 06:51 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: grand rapids
Posts: 124
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ - 1 Flash - Nothing ON


Well I would cut the wires up by the ventor and see what voltage you get when you start the furnace if it is 120v then suspect the motor
trollmastergeneral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 07:20 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ - 1 Flash - Nothing ON


Ok, I pierced the wires with my leads and ensured they would stay. I put the lower panel back on to ensure the lock out switch was held in. I turned the electrical disconnect ON. I went to the thermostat and selected a temperature below room temperature. I heard the thermostat click. I selected a temperature above room temperature and went to the basement. There was no voltage across the wires going to the induce draft motor.
olgranddad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 07:31 PM   #21
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ - 1 Flash - Nothing ON


Hi olgrandad

It sounds like you have a meter. If your meter will read ohms. Shut the power off to the furnace and start locating the limits. Remove one wire off of each limit and see which one is open. I should have read the post a little better. If you dont have a limit open check on your board from R to C for 24 volts and make sure you don't have a bad transformer. For some reason your furnace has lost its low voltage. Should be pretty easy to find and repair. Let us know what you find so we can help you through it.

Rusty
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 09:52 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ - 1 Flash - Nothing ON


Quote:
Originally Posted by olgranddad View Post
Ok, I pierced the wires with my leads and ensured they would stay. I put the lower panel back on to ensure the lock out switch was held in. I turned the electrical disconnect ON. I went to the thermostat and selected a temperature below room temperature. I heard the thermostat click. I selected a temperature above room temperature and went to the basement. There was no voltage across the wires going to the induce draft motor.

There you go...great work my friend, your circut board is not telling your inducer to run. Replace the main board then you will have warm toes again!
acefurnacefixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 08:05 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: grand rapids
Posts: 124
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ - 1 Flash - Nothing ON


Quote:
Originally Posted by acefurnacefixer View Post
There you go...great work my friend, your circut board is not telling your inducer to run. Replace the main board then you will have warm toes again!

wow I would think that verifing the thermostat and wiring are calling for heat first would be important.I personaly would not just run out and buy a circuit board untill I was sure.
trollmastergeneral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 11:03 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ - 1 Flash - Nothing ON


He already said he can hear the relays clicking...........You have to read the post before you reply to them.......but you bring up a valid point, so check for voltage at W and C on the board............should be 24 vac there if the stat is set to heat and its calling.

Last edited by acefurnacefixer; 01-02-2007 at 11:07 AM.
acefurnacefixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 05:22 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ - 1 Flash - Nothing ON


My voltage readings are as follows:

W to C 0V when calling for heat
R to C 26V when calling for heat
110V to 24V on the transformer

Out of curiosity C is common, what are R and W?

Last edited by olgranddad; 01-02-2007 at 06:25 PM.
olgranddad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 07:13 PM   #26
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ - 1 Flash - Nothing ON


Hi olgranddad

C is common, R is 24 volts power, W is heat call. If you jumper R to W inside the furnace and push the safety switch in, the furnace should fire up. Just because you hear a relay click in a thermostat does not mean the thermostat is good or that it is sending a signal to the furnace. Do the jumper and let us know what happens if you havent already fixed the problem.

Rusty
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 08:33 PM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ - 1 Flash - Nothing ON


Quote:
Originally Posted by #CARRIERMAN View Post
Hi olgranddad

C is common, R is 24 volts power, W is heat call. If you jumper R to W inside the furnace and push the safety switch in, the furnace should fire up. Just because you hear a relay click in a thermostat does not mean the thermostat is good or that it is sending a signal to the furnace. Do the jumper and let us know what happens if you havent already fixed the problem.

Rusty
FANTASTIC!!! I jumped R to W and pushed the "lock out" in and the furnance fired right up. I am going to let the house heat up a bit before I disconnect and go to bed.

At this point should I assume that my thermostat is not working properly? Because the furnace control module is operating properly as long as I have the call for heat (W) hard wired to R (24 volts).
olgranddad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 08:50 PM   #28
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ - 1 Flash - Nothing ON


Hi olgranddad

To verify it is the thermostat and not a mouse chewed wire. Put your furnace back the way it was and install the jumper wire at the thermostat on the R and W terminals. If the furnace fires up and runs, go get you a White Rodgers 1F80-361 if you want a programmable and a 1F86-344 if you dont. It sure is a lot easier to help you guys when I don't have someone saying that I am wrong all the time. Let me know if you need me any further.

Good luck
Rusty

Last edited by #CARRIERMAN; 01-02-2007 at 09:23 PM.
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 09:20 PM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ - 1 Flash - Nothing ON


I pulled the jumper on the furnace controller. I jumped R and W at the thermostat. The furnace fired up and runs great.

I have an old mercury switch thermostat from 4 years ago. The one that I replaced with the programmable. I'm going to wire that in for now and pick up a new programmable in the next few days.

I would like to thank all of you who took an interest in my problem and helped me out.

Jon
olgranddad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2007, 09:23 PM   #30
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Comfortmaker RPJ - 1 Flash - Nothing ON


Hi olgranddad

I am sure I speak for all of us that gave you the needed information. That is what we are here for, and Happy New Year.

Rusty

#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comfortmaker furnace problem dragon2125@hotmail.com HVAC 2 12-07-2008 01:12 PM
Comfortmaker RPJ2 rusty55125 HVAC 4 04-03-2007 09:27 PM
Comfortmaker RPJ2 won't ignite tyear8299 HVAC 1 03-05-2006 04:06 PM
Comfortmaker makes noise on start up JHIDS HVAC 2 03-03-2006 11:41 PM
Comfortmaker RPJ2 rusty55125 HVAC 5 01-02-2006 03:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.