Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-23-2008, 02:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

comfortmaker pilot lights but not burner


I've got this Comfortmaker furnace in the attic space, I've got it matched up to a NDN3/NDF series. It was installed around 4 to 5 years ago.

It has what appears to be an intermittent pilot, the draft fan kicks on, then the honeywell control module signals the igniter to spark and the pilot lights. The main burner is suppose to light after that, but it is not lighting (just the pilot is lit), it continues sparking and retries, then stops. I haven't
experienced a complete lock out yet. From looking at the pictures on a couple of websites, the pilot/sensor assembly looks different than most. There's only a single lead coming from the assembly and it looks like there is a combined igniter/sensor on the same rod.

Is this right? I am thinking it is this part that has the problem.

jasonzzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2008, 03:40 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

comfortmaker pilot lights but not burner


check the sensor.

redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 02:11 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

comfortmaker pilot lights but not burner


where can I find the off/on ohm readings for this sensor? TNX
jasonzzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 08:51 AM   #4
Union HVAC Tech.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Rewards Points: 500
Default

comfortmaker pilot lights but not burner


It isn't that kind of sensor, it passes @ 4-10 microamp current through the flame to the control to operate.
bigMikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 06:33 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

comfortmaker pilot lights but not burner


ah. ok, I am reading up on about flame rectifiers now... seems like it would be tough to make the measurement, it's going to blow my multimeter unless if I do a bypass and flip it over after the flame is lit...
jasonzzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 04:57 AM   #6
Union HVAC Tech.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Rewards Points: 500
Default

comfortmaker pilot lights but not burner


Your meter would have to read microamps, doubt you have that scale unless it's an HVAC speciality meter like a Fluke 116 or 902.
bigMikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 11:20 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

comfortmaker pilot lights but not burner


oh yeah, mine only reads mA, dang... Guess I won't be doing that.

I'll take out the ignition rod and clean the rod and flame hood and see if that makes a difference.

jasonzzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Pilot Light Won't Stay Lit etiger1 HVAC 7 10-19-2009 07:09 PM
heat turns pilot light off tclarkmd HVAC 3 10-12-2007 09:37 AM
Formula for changing lights to recessed bulbs? Jemo Electrical 12 01-26-2007 05:02 PM
hot pilot light supply line dlkk HVAC 1 02-24-2006 05:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.