Comfortmaker Furnace Problem - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2006, 06:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Comfortmaker furnace problem


I have a 10 year old Comfortmaker Enviro90+ furnace. Problem is this, the exhaust motor comes on when starting furnace, then it calls for heat and the gas kicks on and ignites. As soon as the main blower starts the pressure switch(new part) starts clicking several times and the gas kicks off and tries to restart. This happens over and over again. Unit will not stay on and heat house. Need help cold weather is coming.

Advertisement

Big Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 07:16 PM   #2
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Comfortmaker furnace problem


You say that the pressure switch is new. What caused you to replace it originally? In any event, I'm thinking that your unit is acting suspiciously like it might have a popped heat exchanger.

Advertisement

mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 07:32 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Comfortmaker furnace problem


When I was first trying to diagnose problem, I talked to a tech and he said it seemed like my problem was a bad pressure switch, and I thought the clicking sound confirmed switch was bad, until I spent 30 bucks on a new one only to find it clicks too. I know I'm an idiot!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Big Red is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 09:08 PM   #4
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Comfortmaker furnace problem


Hi Big Red

I am betting mdshunk is right. The only way to truly tell is to test the heat exchanger. I would have say to get a pro out and have your furnace checked. Its not worth your health by taking chances.

Good luck
Rusty
#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 12:24 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Comfortmaker furnace problem


I also have a comfortmaker, but model c9mpvo75.....I had a tech in to do its annual service and now it is leaking water. A friend said that it might be a condenser return hose, but I can't see where the problem is. Does one of the hoses have to be primed?

Wet feet drying,
ChrisMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 01:05 PM   #6
World famous jerk.
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: central PA
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Comfortmaker furnace problem


Those drains don't need primed. Either your condensate pump (if so equipped) has failed in some manner, or the condensate drain is clogged (common). They snot up with a goo that can only be described as "snot". Put your shop vac on the end of the hose and suck the stuff out, and you'll be good as new.

There's an outside possibility that, since your furnace was just serviced, that a hose got accidentally knocked off inside the unit. Might want to slide the front cover(s) off to double check that.
mdshunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2006, 05:57 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Comfortmaker furnace problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Red View Post
I have a 10 year old Comfortmaker Enviro90+ furnace. Problem is this, the exhaust motor comes on when starting furnace, then it calls for heat and the gas kicks on and ignites. As soon as the main blower starts the pressure switch(new part) starts clicking several times and the gas kicks off and tries to restart. This happens over and over again. Unit will not stay on and heat house. Need help cold weather is coming.
Is the condensate backing up in the furnace or in the flue pipe? This would cause the switch to chatter.
acefurnacefixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 08:39 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Comfortmaker furnace problem


We recently had a comfortmaker (fsm2x2400a) installed by a mom and pop shop that has serviced us regularly for the past many years. After returning from a 3 week vacation, we found the upstairs mechanical room (where the unit is) and everything around it all the way through to the downstairs, water damaged (wood floors, expensive rugs and hardcote on walls and ceilings)...very costly. When the a/c guy came to fix it, he said the drain pipe was semi-clogged (although we had checked and found it to be dripping outside). he installed a $140 gadget that will shut off the system if it backs up again.

My question is could this have been a fault of the system (pipes loose inside when they serviced or installed it)? If so, would there be anything I could do about it at this point.

He also said that our other unit, located next to it which is the original 12 year old Trane could have a gadget installed on it too, if we wanted (he didn't have another one at the time and said that no one uses these because they're a nuissance for the a/c people who have to keep coming back to reset them and usually when the a/c cooling part doesn't work and causes this malfunction, people are around to stop the leak before this kind of damage).

I hate to mistrust people we count on but would not like to be taken advantage of either. I'd like an opinion of someone who is very familiar with these units and circumstances.

Last edited by notsogoodwrench; 08-03-2007 at 08:45 AM.
notsogoodwrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2007, 06:06 PM   #9
Union HVAC Tech.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 607
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Comfortmaker furnace problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Red View Post
I have a 10 year old Comfortmaker Enviro90+ furnace. Problem is this, the exhaust motor comes on when starting furnace, then it calls for heat and the gas kicks on and ignites. As soon as the main blower starts the pressure switch(new part) starts clicking several times and the gas kicks off and tries to restart. This happens over and over again. Unit will not stay on and heat house. Need help cold weather is coming.

If there is dust or a spider web contacting the flame sensing rod the burner will keep kicking back and forth like you mention, take it out an clean it with emory cloth and chances are it will fix the issue. This is a pretty common issue.
bigMikeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 01:37 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Comfortmaker furnace problem


I have the same problem. I disconnect the drain hose inside the furnace and the water runs out. The installers have the humidifirer draining into the same pipe as the blower drain and it suck the water in to the blower ( I've correct that problem). If too much water builds up in the blower housing, the exchange blower shuts down then tries again ect... After I manualy drain it its good for another 4 weeks. The palstic drain valve assembly is glued the the side of the furnace I have no Idea how to replace that.
DanDD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 04:28 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Comfortmaker furnace problem


I would check the gas pressure entering the house and leaving the gas valve. For instance, let say that it is cold outside and the regulator has froze up or the regulator is bad. I have see this situation. What happens is that the gas pressure to the gas valve is high enough to allow the pressure switch operate and the gas valve initially operate. Once the gas valve opens and tries to ignite the pressure from the outside regulator drops and the pressure switch on the furnace shuts the gas valve off. What I have done to test this is to (not suggesting you do this) jump the pressure switch and see if the furnace will burn. YOU WOULD NOT WANT TO RUN THE FURNACE THIS WAY - THIS IS ONLY A TEST. The only other thing you can do is have someone to check the pressure coming in and leaving the gas valve. If you are talking about the GAS Pressure switch it responds to gas pressure leaving the gas valve.
tholling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 06:56 PM   #12
Mechanical Contractor
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 115
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Comfortmaker furnace problem


The gas pressure has nothing to do with the pressure switch in the furnace. The inducer fan operates the pressure switch in the furnace. The gas valve will open by a completed safety circuit if there is gas in the line or not. Burners in excess of 400,000 btu's have gas train pressure switches not residential equipment.

Advertisement

__________________
100% Union and proud of it.
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 08:01 PM
New High Efficiency Furnace Problem Buster 567 HVAC 8 12-13-2010 09:36 PM
Comfortmaker furnace problem dragon2125@hotmail.com HVAC 2 12-07-2008 02:12 PM
furnace problem captjack HVAC 8 11-23-2007 12:15 PM
another question for a miller furnace problem jb9270 HVAC 1 02-05-2007 03:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts