Comfortmaker - 4 Blink Error - "open High Limit Switch" - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2009, 04:18 PM   #16
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

comfortmaker - 4 blink error - "open high limit switch"


The Trane xv80 or xv90 is the furnace I belive you are speaking about. If it is a Trane extended warranty it is a great warranty and they are both very nice furnaces. Definatly get the warranty as the parts are very expensive.

Advertisement

JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 05:29 PM   #17
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,113
Rewards Points: 864
Default

comfortmaker - 4 blink error - "open high limit switch"


Lennox has had VERY few problems with their variable speed ECM motors. We have installed about a thousand or more in the last 6 years with the G61MVP. They use CompleteCare or Equiguard and their is NO handling fees or hidden costs. 10 yrs warranty no questions asked. Helps to get a annual maintenance as the warranty does not cover dirty flame sensors, dirty condensate traps etc. If the unit is grossly neglected (motor full of dirt) then they will obviously void the warranty.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 10:36 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

comfortmaker - 4 blink error - "open high limit switch"


Thanks for all the input. The Trane is their highest efficiency model - the XV95. They sized it to our house size (about 3500 SF). The issue we had with the comfortmaker (and don't get me wrong, that thing lasted about 16 years and I've been here 2 and had NO issues with it) is that it wasn't the appropriate size so it likely overworked all winter long. I am in a burb about 40 miles north of Chicago and we had extreme lows the last week (-18 with -40 wind chills). Like most furnaces it was on for a straight 24/36 hours without ever shutting off for more than 2 minutes. I believe it just didn't have the power to maintain the right temperature - it was an 80KBTU unit - we are getting 100KBTU now with the new Trane.

I've read reviews after reviews on all new furnaces and have absolutely no bias towards one brand over the other. That said, about all of the forums/reviews I have read pointed towards the Trane or Carrier for a home my size. The Carrier Infinity was paired with the Trane we orderded, but was more costly and apparently harder for the homeowner to program and learn to run. I'm hoping the Trane is not - but I'll let you guys know in about 6 hours once the guys are done installing.

Someone asked if it was the unit with the PVC - it is - they are installing the fresh air intake and exhaust in a location we both felt made the most sense. It will be a breath of fresh air (no pun intended) knowing we'll be pulling in fresh air when we're locked in our house all winter. Hopefully it will make the air in the house feel less stale.

-eric

Advertisement

ericro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trane Open High Limit Device mdcheddarhead HVAC 3 03-02-2008 06:43 PM
Comfortmaker RPJII - 4 flashes - open high limit switch nisad HVAC 7 12-08-2006 12:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts