Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-30-2009, 05:56 PM   #1
cnw
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Share |
Question

Comfort Maker Gas Fired Furnace


Just finished installing new motor,set thermostat to "auto" and "heat",burners came on ,but not the blower motor,put fan in "on" mode with a call for heat,blower motor operates with burners for approximately one minute,then the motor stops running,but the burners contine firing,blower motors operates fine in"on "mode without a call for heat,works fine in "auto"/cool mode.Anybody have any idea what's going on

cnw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 06:01 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,051
Default

Comfort Maker Gas Fired Furnace


Sounds like you may have crossed up some wiring for the heat speed or have poor connections somewhere. Putting it in ON energizes the motor thru the cooling relay. Was it an identical motor or a universal type. Post the model and serial # of the furnace.

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 06:02 PM   #3
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Comfort Maker Gas Fired Furnace


How long did you wait after the burners come on to see if the blower will come on?

The heat exchange has to get hot and make a limit close to turn on the blower anywhere from 5 to 10 minutes.

Also if you can post model
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 06:08 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,051
Default

Comfort Maker Gas Fired Furnace


Just trying to help plumber101 and the OP, FYI all the new furnaces with circuit boards are timed on for the fan and it usually is after 45 seconds or they would overstress the heat exchanger. The old bi-metal jobs took a long time, usually 3-5 minutes but gave you nice roasty heat.

Cheers
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 06:10 PM   #5
cnw
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Question

Comfort Maker Gas Fired Furnace


I waited for what semed to be approximately five minutes,I wired the new motor the same way the OEM motor was wired,noted location of each wire upon disconnecting,but will do a double check,the model number is:
GNI060A012BIN/serial number L93055211,Where can one get a wiring diagram or troubleshooting guide for this furnacs?
cnw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 06:24 PM   #6
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Comfort Maker Gas Fired Furnace


Can you post a pic or post wire colors and to which terminal you made the connection?
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 06:34 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,051
Default

Comfort Maker Gas Fired Furnace


Wiring diagram should be on the back of the fan door. Pics will help.
http://www.gocomfortmaker.com/go/index.asp?t=86&s=477
Have to dig for the manual. That old unit may have a heater/timed on fan control made by Camstat which may be faulty and not a full blown modern circuit board. Post some pics of the burner area.

Last edited by yuri; 03-30-2009 at 06:54 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 06:59 PM   #8
cnw
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3
Question

Comfort Maker Gas Fired Furnace


Wil try and get some pics on Wednesday and double check wiring,etc.There wasn't a wiring diagram on the door as usual.Tried searching info on the web address posted,but only goes back to 1998,believe this unit is much older,I remember when I had to purchae an inducer motor kit,it was $248.00,and the distributor commented on it's age.
cnw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 11:48 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Default

Comfort Maker Gas Fired Furnace


check for 120v at fan heat speed term and neutral during heating cycle. if none exsists, and you changed the blower because of the problem you described, you likely have a bad board and replaced the blower for nothing
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 11:52 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Default

Comfort Maker Gas Fired Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber101 View Post
How long did you wait after the burners come on to see if the blower will come on?

The heat exchange has to get hot and make a limit close to turn on the blower anywhere from 5 to 10 minutes.

Also if you can post model


limits are always closed and open upon sensing too much heat
limits do not control the fan cycle other than turning it on upon an overheating condition and turrning off the heating source gas/oil
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 07:00 AM   #11
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Comfort Maker Gas Fired Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by kennzz05 View Post
check for 120v at fan heat speed term and neutral during heating cycle. if none exsists, and you changed the blower because of the problem you described, you likely have a bad board and replaced the blower for nothing


He can also connect 110 to the blower terminals when disconnected form the board to check motor.. it the motor runs forever it's not blower motor.. Mabe has burn out low speed windings.In cooling mode you are on either med or high speed if you have 3 speed motor

Last edited by kenmac; 03-31-2009 at 07:03 AM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 11:16 AM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,529
Default

Comfort Maker Gas Fired Furnace


May be the old motor wasn't bad either.

I'd test the old motor if you still have it.
If it works, well, you have a spare now.
And know to look at other possible problems.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 06:25 PM   #13
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Comfort Maker Gas Fired Furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by kennzz05 View Post
limits are always closed and open upon sensing too much heat
limits do not control the fan cycle other than turning it on upon an overheating condition and turrning off the heating source gas/oil

Thanks Ken and Yuri but I assumed this had a fan/limit. Ya know Limit closed and fan open

I figured it may that old and not have a delay on on the board

But you know what happens when you ass-u-me

Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
comfort maker mnopytfbc HVAC 10 03-18-2009 02:28 AM
Help - Problem with Oil Fired Forced Air Furnace JohnF HVAC 13 01-31-2009 09:04 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.