Comfort-aire Furnace? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2009, 03:11 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Comfort-aire Furnace?


Any reviews or info on Comfort-aire/ Heat Controller Inc. N.Gas forced air furnaces???

Advertisement

jerzeedivr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2009, 07:34 PM   #2
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Comfort-aire Furnace?


No mater the equipment. They are all only as good as the install. Look closer at the quality of the company than the brand of equipment.

Advertisement

JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 12:21 PM   #3
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Comfort-aire Furnace?


It's a Rheem made product. I think you could do a little better on equipment by choosing some thing else.

Who is going to cover the warranty if it goes bad?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 12:42 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Comfort-aire Furnace?


Thanks for the info. I agree, I don't want a Rheem product. I'm looking at ICP products and Carrier/Bryant/Payne. Your thoughts???
Thanks Alot for your time!
jerzeedivr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 12:48 PM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Comfort-aire Furnace?


I do ICP.

Not my fav but I would not tell you not to buy it.

What are you looking for in a furnace? I might be able to give a little more info than you all ready have.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 01:28 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Comfort-aire Furnace?


Hey! I plan to remove 1979 Repco boiler Hot water and replace with hot air. I will install all except the ducts. My buddy is a tin knocker. Its a summer home I only want 80% furnace because I winterize house and don't want problems with freezing condensation line and secondary exchanger. Its 1000' rancher horzontal mount on trapeze 2' through roof. Homosot 2" insulation in roof. 80K btu 2.5-3 ton ac. I won't be burning gas full time. Id like to rebuid new but the economy and the New Jermany Taxes are stoping me. After I remove boiler I will install a Noritz 951 DVC because the old boiler has a winter summer hot water coil.
Thank You for your time!.
jerzeedivr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 01:43 PM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Comfort-aire Furnace?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerzeedivr View Post
Hey! I plan to remove 1979 Repco boiler Hot water and replace with hot air. I will install all except the ducts. My buddy is a tin knocker. Its a summer home I only want 80% furnace because I winterize house and don't want problems with freezing condensation line and secondary exchanger. Its 1000' rancher horzontal mount on trapeze 2' through roof. Homosot 2" insulation in roof. 80K btu 2.5-3 ton ac. I won't be burning gas full time. Id like to rebuid new but the economy and the New Jermany Taxes are stoping me. After I remove boiler I will install a Noritz 951 DVC because the old boiler has a winter summer hot water coil.
Thank You for your time!.
80K is too much for that small a spce.

60k would be much closer.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 02:40 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Comfort-aire Furnace?


Really, you feel 60k-2.5 ton ac will be enough? I know 2 people that i feel over sized their furnaces with 100k. I was thinking 75-80K would be plenty with 2.5 ton ac? This house is on a lagoon/canal on a slab of concrete. It does get cold and has weak insulation.

Last edited by jerzeedivr; 12-19-2009 at 02:47 PM.
jerzeedivr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2009, 04:24 PM   #9
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Comfort-aire Furnace?


37500k is all you need. That being based on weak insulation.

Slab is always going to be a problem no matter what size you put in.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 07:51 PM   #10
Member
 
sktn77a's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 260
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Comfort-aire Furnace?


Guessing you're in NJ. Yes, 80K sounds way too much - as is 2.5-3 ton AC.
sktn77a is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 08:18 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Comfort-aire Furnace?


I want to thank you guys for all your input. I know its not the best way to calculate the size, but this is an orig. home that i do not want to dump alot of money into and the heat will not be used full time. Anyone have something to add i'd like to hear from you! Now I'm thinking reducing to at least 60K with 2.5 ton AC? hvaclover thinks about 40K. I know he knows more than me! (1000' sq.ft. rancher on slab)

Last edited by jerzeedivr; 12-20-2009 at 08:28 PM.
jerzeedivr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 08:24 PM   #12
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Comfort-aire Furnace?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerzeedivr View Post
I want to thank you guys for all your input. I know its not the best way to calculate the size, but this is an orig. home that i do not want to dump alot of money into and the heat will not be used full time. Anyone have something to add i'd like to hear from you!
You're cool. It's not hard to calculate a home that small with out seeing it.

Bigger homes are another story.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 08:38 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 64
Rewards Points: 77
Default

Comfort-aire Furnace?


OK I can appreaciate that! I am an electrician and can handle most of the installation. So i will save alot. My buddy will size and install the ducts for me.
jerzeedivr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 08:40 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Comfort-aire Furnace?


My home is the same size and a 45K furnace and 2 ton cooling is more then enough here in Nebraska. Winters get down to -15 once in a while and summers get over 100 often. Matter of fact the furnace never has gone to second stage even when it was -9 out.

Advertisement

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
American Standard Comfort Maker 80 Gas Furnace kevettom HVAC 15 12-26-2010 08:12 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
Replacement Sequencers - Comfort Aire AH stephech HVAC 3 11-23-2008 09:48 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts