Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-24-2011, 09:45 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

comfort 92 code 31


carrier comfort 92..code 31...which is pressure switch code...i replace pressure switch with known good switch..same problem..i removed cover for burners, furnace fired up...replaced cover, furnace will not light..removed pvc pipe from air intake combustion chamber, furnace will light..checked and double checked air intake pvc tubing end to end, no obstructions..all other tubing seems to be clear and open..what else could be the problem of not closing switch (normally Open)...here is pic of unit


By gatorchin75 at 2011-12-24

gatorchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 09:49 AM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

comfort 92 code 31


Did you clear the ports where the tube connects? The draft inducer may be bad.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 09:59 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

comfort 92 code 31


yes..i removed blower assembly and checked all ports..inducer motor seems to be turning fine.(to my inexperienced eyes)...only when i open something up like the burner cover or remove pvc from intake chamber, everything runs fine.
gatorchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:16 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

comfort 92 code 31


Quote:
Originally Posted by gatorchin View Post
yes..i removed blower assembly and checked all ports..inducer motor seems to be turning fine.(to my inexperienced eyes)...only when i open something up like the burner cover or remove pvc from intake chamber, everything runs fine.
Your intake pipe is clogged.............
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:19 AM   #5
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

comfort 92 code 31


Flue pipe might be obstructed..? Btw, inducers can run but when they get weak they don't run well or as strong and will not close a pressure switch.

Check for an obstructed flue pipe, make sure it's clear all the way through the roof.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:19 AM   #6
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

comfort 92 code 31


and what Harley said.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:23 AM   #7
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 594
Rewards Points: 514
Default

comfort 92 code 31


A pressure switch lockout can also be a plugged condensate drain.

Houston204 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:27 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

comfort 92 code 31


Quote:
Originally Posted by Houston204 View Post
A pressure switch lockout can also be a plugged condensate drain.

Yes thats correct, but as the customer stated in his first post, he takes the burner door off, and it runs fine. In my 30 + years the most important thing I have learned is to listen to everything the customer says and then diagnose and draw a conclusion. If it was a drain issue, removing the burner door would not cure the problem.
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:28 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

comfort 92 code 31


doc and harleyrider...i figured intake was clogged somewhere as well...so when i removed pvc from air intake combustion chamber, i went ahead and cut the pipe where you can see the black rubber coupling in the pic..everything was clear...from the cut to the other end of the piping is just about two feet, (it runs out the side of building, why they didnt go straight up i dont know)..you can see in the pic the intake and exhaust runs together...kind of..the intake is the 4" pipe, with a 2" pipe inside it for the exhaust..there is a cap on the outside that is supposed to separate the two..anyway, i checked the intake all the way outside..clear as it can be..



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
gatorchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:30 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

comfort 92 code 31


Quote:
Originally Posted by Houston204 View Post
A pressure switch lockout can also be a plugged condensate drain.

checked condesation drains..all clear
gatorchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:30 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

comfort 92 code 31


what about right above the burner box? there is a screen in there that can catch leaves and debris.
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:32 AM   #12
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 594
Rewards Points: 514
Default

comfort 92 code 31


Are there ang sags in the vent pipe that may be holding condensation?
Houston204 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:34 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

comfort 92 code 31


Quote:
Originally Posted by harleyrider View Post
what about right above the burner box? there is a screen in there that can catch leaves and debris.
are you talking about the screen in the air intake combustion chamber??(black plastic box on top of burner box)?? if so yes, i removed this component and it was clear of any obstructions
gatorchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:37 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

comfort 92 code 31


Quote:
Originally Posted by gatorchin View Post
are you talking about the screen in the air intake combustion chamber??(black plastic box on top of burner box)?? if so yes, i removed this component and it was clear of any obstructions
how old is this furnace?
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2011, 10:38 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

comfort 92 code 31


Quote:
Originally Posted by Houston204 View Post
Are there ang sags in the vent pipe that may be holding condensation?
when i cut the intake pipe, i taped a rubber glove over the opening and put a small hole in the glove...used air compressor to blow out the pipe..when i did this i did see a small amount of dirty water droplets leaking back down the pipe...now was this from air compressor or the pipe itself?? i don't know..after blowing it out i visually inspected and could not find any dirt or debris, although it was raining outside..i then put everything back together and still would not light unless i removed burner cover or intake piping...i know this all indicates a clogged intake, but for the life of me it looks clear

gatorchin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier Furnace Error Code 34 Comfort 80 bamsgl HVAC 5 12-30-2011 10:08 AM
Carrier Comfort 92 LED code 31 superape HVAC 2 12-04-2011 07:07 PM
Lighting proximity to outdoor hot tub - Code Question jeffinpickering Electrical 0 09-12-2011 02:43 PM
Bryant Plus 90 Code 31 ~kirkland~ HVAC 1 03-08-2011 07:14 PM
Finding a copy of the 2006 International Building Code WFO Electrical 2 07-11-2009 08:21 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.