Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-21-2012, 11:55 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Combustion Air Vent Troubles

Were renting a slab house with a utility / HVAC room off the dining room with a large rectangular combustion air vent in it. The forced air and ac unit as well as the water heater are fairly old, the house was built in the late 80's. The vent is a good distance from the units probably 3 or 4 ft from the heater and 5 or 6 ft from the water heater. I am no expert by any means but I can tell its not the most efficient, unfortunately its what we can afford and in a nice area.
The cold from the vent has been causing some freezing issues with the water pipes in the utility room for the washer and the feed to the house. It gets very cold in the utility room with New England winters. I have sealed the forced hot air vent for the utility room in the ceiling because it seemed like a complete waste of money.
My question really is do any of you know of a way to seal off the side of the utility room with the hvac and water heater without major damage to the house? I am not trying to seal off the vent, I would rather pay extra to heat and keep my family safe. I hung a tarp up last winter but it didnt really do much other than make me imagine it was warmer and make my wife complain about it.
Any ideas on this one is greatly appreciated thanks in advance.

i0ls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 01:47 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 250

Is the outdoor air supply powered and interlocked with the combustion equipment?

ionized is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 05:55 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 500