Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2010, 01:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Combustable air, how much is needed?


We are installing a Patriot 80 oil burner in a 16x14x7 basement room, and running the return through an adjoining room that is 12x24x7 to the upstairs level of the house. How much combustable air should be needed for the unit, and if more is needed from the adjoining larger room, what size hole would be needed to vent the proper amount of combustable air to the unit? There has to be a way to determin the amount of combustable air in a room, and likely how much that the unit requires that may not be in the owners manual.

Lee Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 03:34 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Combustable air, how much is needed?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lee Roy View Post
proper amount of combustable air to the unit? .


I would not want any. You want fresh air for appliance combustion


Last edited by kenmac; 10-26-2010 at 03:49 PM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 05:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Combustable air, how much is needed?


Need 50 cubic feet of free air for every 1000 BTU including the water heater. One way is to put grill on the walls connecting rooms, one within 12" of the ceiling and one within 12" of the floor. There's a formula for how much air can pass through 1" grill space but I can't rember it right now. One of the other guys will know shortly. Got to have more supply feeding these rooms then return or the negative pressure can make the flue downdraft.
As kenmac stated the other option is to bring it in from outside. Again can't recall the exact procedure but believe it's no less then half the flue diameter. Down side is it makes a mighty cold room in the winter which will freeze pipes if you don't have enough heat blowing in there.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 05:55 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,597
Rewards Points: 2,332
Default

Combustable air, how much is needed?


He would have to know the oil burner nozzle size and firing rate and convert that to BTU's, not easy. Best to just put a louvered door into the furnace room and allow the air into the house naturally. That way there is no cold drafts in the furnace room etc. Oil burners are power burners/fan assissted and can easily draw air in thru a louvered door. If he seals the house airtight then he may have chimney problems etc and needs additional outside combustion air. Most homes are leaky enough not to have that problem.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 06:08 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Combustable air, how much is needed?


Thanks yuri. A quarter million people in and around town and I work on exactly one oil burner. Thought they were purchased like gas furnaces with a specific BTU for the house needs.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 06:12 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,597
Rewards Points: 2,332
Default

Combustable air, how much is needed?


The older ones could use 3 different nozzle sizes. Newer ones are more house size specific but he would still need all that info to know for sure.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 06:24 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,509
Rewards Points: 2,698
Default

Combustable air, how much is needed?


Between those 2 rooms. You have enough volume for 71,680 BTUs of input.

So what size is your furnace?
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
Lee Roy (10-27-2010)
Old 10-27-2010, 12:07 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Combustable air, how much is needed?


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Between those 2 rooms. You have enough volume for 71,680 BTUs of input.

So what size is your furnace?
The unit says 85000 BTU's, we have weatherized the upper part of the house, really tightened things up from what they were. We ran the return through a cinderblock wall, and now I am framing the hole. My plan is to use two 20x24 inch grates to allow air flow between the rooms. I can also add a smaller one to allow outside air if needed. What is the formula used to determin combustable air and BTU ratio? My local hardware store said they just use a chart. Thanks for your help.

Last edited by Lee Roy; 10-27-2010 at 12:09 PM. Reason: spelling
Lee Roy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 06:21 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,509
Rewards Points: 2,698
Default

Combustable air, how much is needed?


50 cubic foot per 1,000 BTUs of input.

Then what you lack. You need to add 4 sq in per 1,000 BTUs.

So a 6" pipe is all you would need to add from the outside.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 10:17 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Combustable air, how much is needed?


One thing they allow here when a little short on combustion air for replacement jobs is to put in a gutted 4x10 supply in the room. Has to have a sticker applied stating "combustion air- do not cover". Won't fly on new construction though.

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Size of whole house fan needed Doug Crf General DIY Discussions 20 02-25-2011 11:29 PM
no ductwork needed to install a wall fan ? amakarevic Plumbing 2 01-22-2010 05:23 PM
Wire Needed for GF / Arc Fault breaker jamiedolan Electrical 13 09-20-2009 08:15 AM
calculating amount of exhaust vents needed bitty071203 HVAC 4 06-09-2009 07:13 PM
Help on materials needed for granite tile c4m4r0 Flooring 4 06-02-2007 02:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.