Coleman Presidential II Relay Issue - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2013, 07:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Coleman Presidential II relay issue


Hello,
I live in a mobile home and have a Coleman Presidential II gas furnace/air conditioner.

Recently, I've been having issues with the reversing relay (part #7670-308). I looked online for a direct replacement and now that I've installed the replacement relay (part #7670-3071), the unit will not shut off at all.

I thought it was due to a defective replacement relay so I ordered another and same thing, the unit keeps running.

Anyone here know what's going on???

How do I hook up the wires to this relay???

Much Thanx in Advance.

Advertisement

castleromeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 08:56 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

Coleman Presidential II relay issue


A pic of the relays and where the wires are connected would probably help.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2013, 11:39 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Coleman Presidential II relay issue


OK, I took some pics. I took a pic of the schematic glued to the blower module. This is specific to the control panel which is at issue.

I also took some pics of the actual control panel and the relay I'm using.
Attached Thumbnails
Coleman Presidential II relay issue-7670-3071-relay.jpg   Coleman Presidential II relay issue-coleman-schematic.jpg   Coleman Presidential II relay issue-coleman-unit-1.jpg   Coleman Presidential II relay issue-coleman-unit-2.jpg   Coleman Presidential II relay issue-coleman-schematic-2.jpg  

castleromeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 05:38 AM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

Coleman Presidential II relay issue


Does the fan run in low or high speed all the time.

That is a sequencer that you changed out, not the relay. The relay is to the left.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 06:40 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Coleman Presidential II relay issue


The unit runs in high speed all the time. The sequencer is a type of relay.
castleromeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 06:43 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

Coleman Presidential II relay issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by castleromeo View Post
The unit runs in high speed all the time. The sequencer is a type of relay.
Yes it is. So did you check the relay to the left of the sequencer.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 06:50 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Coleman Presidential II relay issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Yes it is. So did you check the relay to the left of the sequencer.
I replaced it recently. Both the old relay and the new relay have a diagram pasted on the side andthe terminals were numbered so it was easy to reattach the wires.
castleromeo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2013, 06:54 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

Coleman Presidential II relay issue


Sounds like you need to get out a multi meter and see what is causing what to send power to the blower constantly.

Advertisement

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (07-27-2013)
Reply

Tags
coleman , hvac , presidential ii , relay


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Relay on Heat Pump control box making clicking sounds berr3555 HVAC 8 02-22-2013 07:57 PM
Heating relay wiring Toledo Electrical 6 11-26-2009 01:03 PM
Wiring 220 and relay bohaiboy Electrical 7 11-19-2009 04:41 PM
Need a relay for off peak heat BorisMD Electrical 16 09-13-2009 06:25 PM
Cable issue or wiring issue? Duchey Electrical 57 12-15-2008 02:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts