Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-15-2008, 01:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Coleman Mobile Home Gas Furnace Problems


I am having a problem with my mobile home Coleman gas furnace, it started with the pilot light not staying lit so I changed the thermocouple. Now when I light the standing pilot it burns great, but when I turn the black nob from pilot to ON position, the burner ignites and within a few seconds just kinda poofs out along with the pilot light. If I only turn the nob just enough for the burner to slowly ignite and just enough flame to top around the disk on the burner it will stay lit but doesn't produce enough heat to warm the house. I have checked my flue and it is clear of any debris, I have also cleaned the burner and adjusted the pilot. Any help would be great its going to get down in the 40s this weekend and would love heat. This is a Natural Gas furnace. Seems to me there is a draft from somewhere or its running out of oxygen. Please help!!


Last edited by Cberkimer; 10-16-2008 at 09:35 AM.
Cberkimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 01:28 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,809
Default

Coleman Mobile Home Gas Furnace Problems


If its propane.
Call your LP company to come out.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 09:36 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Coleman Mobile Home Gas Furnace Problems


anyone else have any answers for me? it is not LP gas it is Natural....
Cberkimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 11:12 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,186
Default

Coleman Mobile Home Gas Furnace Problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cberkimer View Post
anyone else have any answers for me? it is not LP gas it is Natural....
I had a similar problem with a furnace a year ago and it turned out to be the controller. Although this one didn't light anything and when I went to the burn mode the pilot light just went out.

Had a stove like that also did the same thing (pilot light would go out when turned over to run mode) and it was the controller.

At first I thought it was the thermocouple but that was fine. I replaced it anyhow just to make sure. Didn't fix the problem.

Finally the only thing left was the gas controller. Replaced that and it worked fine.

Not saying that is your issue but this one worked for me.
__________________
My idea of a perfect day: No where to go and all day to get there.
Marvin Gardens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 02:13 PM   #5
Genius (Self Certified)
 
jdkasper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Coleman Mobile Home Gas Furnace Problems


Call your gas company and have them verify proper pressure and volume. Make sure they check the volume at the furnace. I've seen this happen with a line restriction between the meter and the house. (collapsed line underground) If all checks out ok, you may want to call a professional to check the unit. A gas furnace is nothing to experiment with.

Last edited by jdkasper; 10-17-2008 at 07:28 PM.
jdkasper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 07:24 AM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Default

Coleman Mobile Home Gas Furnace Problems


try this........shut the stat off ...set up the pilot and put the gas valve to...ON after the pilot holds from the ...PILOT position,work the stat and call for heat.turning the valve on slowly isn't the normal cycle to run might be something with the header or valve itself that causes turning it on from the valve.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 09:32 AM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Coleman Mobile Home Gas Furnace Problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cberkimer View Post
anyone else have any answers for me? it is not LP gas it is Natural....
If its propane.
Call your LP company to come out
/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
Whoa busted...
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 09:35 AM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Coleman Mobile Home Gas Furnace Problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by jdkasper View Post
Call your gas company and have them verify proper pressure and volume. Make sure they check the volume at the furnace. I've seen this happen with a line restriction between the meter and the house. (colapsed line underground) If all checks out ok, you may want to call a professional to check the unit. A gas furnace is nothing to experiment with.

I tried the "Call a pro..it's too dangerous" approach. Then i was reminded this was a DIY site.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 10:49 AM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,809
Default

Coleman Mobile Home Gas Furnace Problems


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cberkimer View Post
anyone else have any answers for me? it is not LP gas it is Natural....
Call your NG company.

The pilot is before the gas valves internal pressure regulator.

So unless your gas cock is defective, or you opened it too fast when you changed out the pilot.
You will probably need your gas company out.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 12:58 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Coleman Mobile Home Gas Furnace Problems


ok,, before calling the gas company on Monday I tried biggles response, i lit the pilot and then turned from the pilot position to the ON position, and then turned on my blower and adjusted my stat so it would call for heat. This seemed at first to produce a nice burning flame then about 3 seconds later it just "blows" out both pilot and burner, Any more ideas before calling Gas Company or a tech to check the Controller?
Cberkimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 06:50 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,809
Default

Coleman Mobile Home Gas Furnace Problems


Nope.
make the call, the longer you delay. The longer before they get someone out.

And if a part has to be ordered, your just gonna be without heat that much longer.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 01:06 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Coleman Mobile Home Gas Furnace Problems


making call at 8am hope i can get someone out quickly.. thanks everyone so much for your help
Cberkimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 09:00 AM   #13
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Coleman Mobile Home Gas Furnace Problems


HEY!

You still on hold with the gas company?

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help ! May have to replace older model Streamway mobile home tub faucet valve body !! Musicloverz Plumbing 2 01-26-2008 07:04 PM
Home oil boiler furnace jmb HVAC 5 03-28-2007 07:03 AM
Furnace Problems? MCSE HVAC 10 12-20-2006 11:06 AM
Furnace Problems? Part 2 MCSE HVAC 9 11-30-2006 09:25 PM
Intermittent gas furnace problems dcoz HVAC 1 01-16-2006 09:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.