Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-19-2008, 12:24 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 124
Share |
Default

Cold room


I have a room in my house that is just plain cold even with the heating running at 70f, the rest of the rooms are good but this one is not. It is furthest away from the furnace so I guess this may have something to do with it?
__________________
PC Pro, DIY Noob
wedge22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 04:03 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,474
Default

Cold room


The supply run to that room and or trunk line is too small.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 04:45 AM   #3
Member
 
Wethead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 82
Default

Cold room


Have you tried to adjust your registers?
Wethead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 12:27 PM   #4
sweaty
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 297
Default

Cold room


Put insulating pads behind the switch and receptacle plates, weatherstrip the windows and doors, seal and insulate the attic above it, if there is one. Check the exterior of the house and seal up any openings.

This is all much more cost-effective than doing surgery on your house.
sweaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 06:53 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 124
Default

Cold room


What do you mean by adjusting my registers?

Where are the switch and receptacle plates?
__________________
PC Pro, DIY Noob
wedge22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2008, 07:25 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: north east
Posts: 728
Default

Cold room


I shouldn't answer for others, the switch plates they are referring to are your light switches and outlets, putting foam inserts behind the covers stops a lot of cold air from comeing in, as for adjusting your registers, try closing the vents some to force more air to go farther down the line to the last room.
__________________
LIVING THE DREAM
DUDE! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 08:23 AM   #7
sweaty
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vienna, VA
Posts: 297
Default

Cold room


Closing off registers is usually not good for the system, especially for heat pumps and A/C's. Seal the ducts and seal the gaps between the registers and the drywall using metal foil tape.
sweaty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 09:02 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Western Ontario
Posts: 955
Default

Cold room


Wedge, I live in Southern Ontario, so you are a bit warmer but I have a similar scenario with one upper level bedroom that has no cold air return. I recently adjusted all my dampers in the basement, sealed my pipe joints with foil tape and then added 8" of blown insulation above my son's room. In addition we increased attic ventilation to an improved ratio roof top and soffit to reduce ice daming from trapped heat. It has made a huge difference. This week I added R11 over the hallway outside the room and it is noticeably warmer day and night as we drop our stat to 17 at night. In furture when I reno I will add a cold air return via an adjoining bathroom wall when I pull the vanity.
Hope this can be of help
Chemist1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 09:37 AM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,474
Default

Cold room


Chem.

You can use a transfer grille/system for that room.

If you have wall area open to the hallway.

Cut a grille low in the bedroom wall, and another high in the same cavity in the hallway.

When teh system runs, it will force teh cooler air out of the room, and back to the closet common return.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 09:45 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Western Ontario
Posts: 955
Default

Cold room


Thanks, I've been reading you tips. Glad to have qualified feedback. Unfortunately only the doorway adjoins the hall directly, then two closets and the bathroom wall.
I pulled the floorboards in the hall when I installed my central vac. Used my Right angle drill and came up from underneath the wall, so I know the joist layout. In future I may steal the existing run from the adjoining bedroom, transition it to the cold room via the floor joists and run a fresh papralel run beside it . Not sure waiting till spring on that one. Can you help with my Tstat qusetion earlier today re Carriier MV80?
Chemist1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cold Room Right Thinking Kinda Guy HVAC 3 07-01-2008 04:35 PM
What is cold room for? KUIPORNG Remodeling 4 04-26-2007 05:06 PM
My kids room is cold snmhanson HVAC 5 12-20-2006 11:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.