Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-13-2007, 01:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cold Room


Hello, any suggestions on the best way to increase airflow in one room. My bedroom is the furthest away from the heater, and doesn't seem to get enough airflow. Most of the other rooms in the house are good, but this room just does not get warm enough. If I turn up my thermostat to make that room warm enough, the rest of the house is way too hot. I have a gas forced air through ducts.

msajeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 02:07 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 190
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Cold Room


Most registers have adjustable baffles. Close up the registers in other rooms a bit, and open them in this room wide open.

scorrpio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 05:51 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cold Room


That has been tried and didn't do much, any other thoughts or products that can help?
msajeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 06:24 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cold Room


I believe they make small fans....called "boosters" that fit inside the ductwork wired to the furnace going to that paticular room. That will increase the airflow in that room a lot.
nikko4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 07:24 PM   #5
no loose ends
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Southern California
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Cold Room


Nikko4 has the right idea. What I've done in these situations though, is use a timer to allow the booster to run during the day time. Or, because most boosters draw such low amps, it wouldn't hurt to let it run all the time. This will cause a "mixing" effect; Air is drawn into the boosted duct from all ducts creating more of a balance throughout.
undone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2007, 09:26 PM   #6
Firefighter/Paramedic
 
tyler101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ohio
Posts: 27
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Cold Room


Here are a couple different options. http://www.espenergy.com/booster_fans.htm
tyler101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2007, 06:21 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cold Room


Thanks for the replies, that seems like a good idea. Here's my question, where does this have to be placed in the duct? The problem is, that I have finshed and drywalled my basement , so I don't have access to the duct from below, only from right in the room.

msajeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cold room above garage, Asbestos? Crackers Building & Construction 1 09-09-2007 09:35 AM
What is cold room for? KUIPORNG Remodeling 4 04-26-2007 05:06 PM
My kids room is cold snmhanson HVAC 5 12-20-2006 11:51 AM
Adding a vent in cold room... AllGoNoShow HVAC 1 11-21-2006 11:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.