Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-26-2009, 10:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

cold house....


luxaire model pdu-id08n080a
older model maybe 18 years old
don't have draft inducer fan

Okay so this is my problem, I had to turn the thermostat off/on in the past two days, now nothing. The furnace will only make a light relay sound when I turn power off/on. nothing more, no fan, no hot surface glow, no gas release..nothing. I cleaned the flame sensor and the pilot ignitor. Thank goodness I have a few electic ceramic heaters from camping, sure is cold in buffalo area tonight! Thanks for any insight I might get........

just trying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 05:27 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

cold house....


Check for power to the draft inducer, if it's getting power and not working, replace it. This is the first thing that's supposed to happen in the sequence. If it's not working, then nothing else will.

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 08:51 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default

cold house....


I think it is whats called Natural draft furnace, no motor. It does have a hot surface pilot.
just trying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 08:54 AM   #4
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Default

cold house....


Do you have a/c you may have a 2nd switch on the t-stat. Switch it to fan on to see if the fan runs and check if you have power to the furnace. Lets start with the basics.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 09:10 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

cold house....


Quote:
Originally Posted by just trying View Post
I think it is whats called Natural draft furnace, no motor. It does have a hot surface pilot.
After rereading ita couple times, I see that now
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 09:33 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default

cold house....


no a/c, but the first thing I think that suppost to happen is the "buz" box sends signal to "spark plug" to spark. It does not spark or even try so I guess I need to start with what is it that sends the spark to the spark plug ignitor thing?
just trying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 09:52 AM   #7
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Default

cold house....


You sead you have hot surfice ignition. Now you say spark. Which is it? Are you sure you have power at the unit this is the 1st thing to check.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 10:24 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 4
Default

cold house....


Sorry I was wrong. I have looked in images this is what the furnace has... for sure: Pilot Igniter/Burner Assm W/Flame Rod & Spark Igniter Single Tip. So I am going to figure out how to replace this and start there. I have a meter but need to be walked through what to /where to check. Thanks for looking into this...........
just trying is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 10:34 AM   #9
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Default

cold house....


I am going to assume you have checked for power and that you have it. We can not seem to get this question answered. So assuming you have high voltage you need to see if you have power at you ignition modual. If you can tell us the model of the modual we can probly tell you what terminals to check. You can follow the spark cable back to the modual.

JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 04:45 AM
Cold Air Return in an Old House DaleB HVAC 2 01-09-2009 10:20 AM
Hello. I moved my house... shtoink Introductions 10 06-25-2008 01:40 PM
"New: House, and need some advise... dcd22 General DIY Discussions 9 06-17-2008 07:12 AM
Re-siding house jdig Building & Construction 5 04-10-2007 09:15 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.