Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2005, 02:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

Cold air returns (or lack thereof...)


I have a 3 bedroom ranch on a crawl (with attic) that is approx. 1200 sq. ft. NONE of the six total rooms have c/a returns. However there is a large one low on the wall of the hallway that leads to all of these rooms and the furnace is on the the other side the wall, approximately in the center of the house. Regarding the supply side of the system: there is no main trunk, just six 4" flex ducts (R6)running straight from over the furnace to the six supply regs, and they lay on the floor of the attic. All supply registers are 3" off the floor on the interior wall of every room. I just had a new 75K BTU and 2 ton furnace and central air installed using this existing duct system. The problem is the longest run, about 10', is to the farthest bedroom, and it is this room that just doesn't seem to cool off. I have NO dampers in any of these six supplies to play with other than at the registers themselves. Is this a cold air return problem, is it a supply duct problem, or is it both? BTW, in the newer part of the house, even farther from the furnace, the temps are perfect. But these rooms are supplied by 6" flex through their ceilings and c/a returns at the floor...

Umby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 07:43 AM   #2
aka:awesomedell
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: North Central Missouri
Posts: 206
Send a message via MSN to housedocs
Default

Cold air returns (or lack thereof...)


I'm not an expert in HVAAAC, but it seems to me that the supply ducts are a bit small. What did your installer have to say about the duct system?

__________________
All you need is ignorance and confidence and success is assured. - Mark Twain
housedocs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2005, 09:26 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Cold air returns (or lack thereof...)


Quote:
Originally Posted by housedocs
I'm not an expert in HVAAAC, but it seems to me that the supply ducts are a bit small. What did your installer have to say about the duct system?

He hinted that they seemed small. But because the I was personally replacing the metal duct with flex, all of it 4"; I don't think he wanted me starting another register replacement project to change those from 4" to 5" or 6".
What about lack of cold air returns?
Umby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2005, 01:31 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 24
Default

Cold air returns (or lack thereof...)


so you were replacing 4" pipe with 4" flex.....and there is a/c????the returns in the hall is typical .this system will probably freeze up .a 2 ton a/c coil is good for 800-1000 cfm. 4" flex is equivilant to 3" pipe. you would need 20 -4" runs to roughly size that system.there must be at least 4-6"runs ??? 3" doesnt even show on my ductulator increase them to 6" flex with dampers at the plenum ,then you can balance .does the room in question get full sun ?if so it needs more condition.if the runs down the walls r 4' ,install 6" wisper grills in the ceilings
murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2005, 10:46 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Cold air returns (or lack thereof...)


I already cut out a larger hole in the plenum for the new 6" take-off, but the hole ended up being 7.25" which took up more room than I expected. I don't believe I can cut any more big holes like that one because I have little or no room now. I then put in a new supply register in the ceiling of the room in question (which gets little or no sun). Now when the air is on, I have to lean into the door to get it to open! I need to cut a c/a return on the bottom of the door. I would like to put at least one if not two more 6" supplies to other rooms, but now my plenum is getting full...
Umby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2005, 12:24 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 24
Default

Cold air returns (or lack thereof...)


you only need about a 1"-1 1/4" under cut on the door to get a good return.30 square inches is good for 100-150cfm of return and this is plenty of return for any typical residential use of a room .if the square foot of the room is the size of a family room or large master bedrm then add a return And even if you cut a 6" hole for the pipe ,it is better than a 4"flex..If you have to lean into the door to get it to open from a 6" run ,this makes no sense ..are you growing something in this room???if so, you dont need to change the air that many times,use an ionizing air filter,and change the air ten times per hr...ha ha ha ..there is allways a way to get more air.you can remove the runs in the plenum and add a small main trunk up top,then add your runs to the main ,this will carry more preasure and less restriction ,and if you do that ,add a return trunk line ,and add a return in the ceiling ,this will make the a/c more effiecient
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umby
I already cut out a larger hole in the plenum for the new 6" take-off, but the hole ended up being 7.25" which took up more room than I expected. I don't believe I can cut any more big holes like that one because I have little or no room now. I then put in a new supply register in the ceiling of the room in question (which gets little or no sun). Now when the air is on, I have to lean into the door to get it to open! I need to cut a c/a return on the bottom of the door. I would like to put at least one if not two more 6" supplies to other rooms, but now my plenum is getting full...
murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2005, 01:32 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Cold air returns (or lack thereof...)


I had a very similar problem a few years back. The master bdrm was always hot. I put a cut-through return vent OVER the bdrm door and that solved the problem. It was only one of those small vents from HDepot - I want to say 8" but im not sure. If you don't have some kind of a return in each room, you won't have consistent air flow and temp. Shaving the door at the bottom isn't a bad idea but that kindof looks ugly. The vent I installed was quite neutral and un-noticeable. Good luck!
meiersenterprises is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 10:24 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Cold air returns (or lack thereof...)


If I have a ceiling supply register and an over-the-door return register, would these work together efficiently? I have heard of the main trunk idea before, I should look into it, thanks.

Umby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is cold room for? KUIPORNG Remodeling 4 04-26-2007 05:06 PM
Help with low pressure cold water upstairs lewissv Plumbing 5 01-26-2007 08:05 AM
Reducing size of very large air-vent returns in floor? AllGoNoShow HVAC 3 09-19-2006 09:36 PM
how cold is too cold for vinyl siding? THEBIGPUNN Building & Construction 1 11-22-2005 10:50 PM
Cold Air Return near ceiling or floor? jakobus HVAC 3 07-21-2005 10:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.