Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-15-2009, 11:08 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Share |
Post

Cold air return situation


I recently posted about a cold air return in a basement closet. Well I have a situation after trying to move it out of the closet. I have 3 other walls that it can go on and 2 are exterior walls and the 3rd wall sits on a floor truss. I can not cut into the floor truss and was hoping that I could use one of the 2 exterior walls for the return. The wall has a ledge that has been framed out to insulate the block. Can I place a return on the exterior wall?

RAYCC3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 04:46 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,735
Default

Cold air return situation


Yes, you can. Best if you use a duct.
If you don't use duct. You better make sure it can't draw any outside air in.
Or it will raise your heating and or cooling bill.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 06:15 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Cold air return situation


Thanks Benthere! I am glad I have the option to use the exterior wall. I had another question for you. How many cold air returns would I need if I have 6 supplies in my basement? My basement is 960 sq ft. I have 1 supply in each of the 2 rooms and bathroom. And 3 in a 24x18 family room.
RAYCC3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 06:39 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,735
Default

Cold air return situation


Its not the number of returns. Its the volume.

Each bedroom should have a return that draws out as much air as the supply puts in. And the family room needs to have enough return for the air your suppling to it, plus the bathroom.

So however many CFM your putting into a room, thats how much return you need.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 06:44 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 16
Default

Cold air return situation


Thanks again! My returns seem to be taking a lot of air so I don't want to add anymore.
RAYCC3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric wire in cold air return bvbellomo Electrical 8 01-08-2009 06:01 PM
Basement Cold air return Bcoleman6 HVAC 2 06-07-2008 08:42 AM
move cold air return or add extra hot air CamL HVAC 2 03-26-2008 12:43 AM
Cold Air Return near ceiling or floor? jakobus HVAC 3 07-21-2005 10:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.