Cold Air Return Grill At Furnace Intake - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2009, 10:01 AM   #1
DIY Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cold air return grill at furnace intake


Hello everyone. Long time lurker, first time poster

I have a grill on my cold air return duct right at the intake to the furnace, just before the filter. This intake is allowing basement humidity and odor (cat boxes, etc) to permeate the entire house. Can I seal this off without any problems? The rest of the house has plenty of cold air return, with large "5-port" grills in each bedroom and each large room.

Thank you for your advice!

Zeke

Advertisement

Zeke2112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 11:43 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

Cold air return grill at furnace intake


Its probably needed.

You may have a lot of return grilles. But that doesn't mean you have enough return air.

Temp cover the grille, and see if it reduces air flow from your supply grilles, and or increase noise at your other returns.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 02:04 PM   #3
DIY Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cold air return grill at furnace intake


Thanks for the reply. I do have a follow-up question: from a fluid-flow perspective, wouldn't having a grille right at the intake overpower the cold air returns from the rest of the house? Seems that the blower would pull most of its air from that grille and reduce the pull from the rest of the house. This would account for the fact that the 2 rooms farthest from the furnace don't seem to have any air circulation in them - warm near the floor and cold near the ceiling.

It's also worth noting that this intake is about 5 feet from our sump pump. We have a major radon in our area and have a radon mitigation system in place, so I'm also paranoid that any radon that might escape into the basement is promptly going to be distributed throughout the house.

Thanks again for the reply. Will give covering it a try and see how it goes.

Zeke
Zeke2112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 03:47 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

Cold air return grill at furnace intake


The return in the basement. Has to pull its air from the basement. And unless the basement has supplies. Or a lot of fresh air infiltration. It can't pull anymore air, then what the basement is supplied with.

So the other returns will pull as much air as they need/can.

Are the rooms that don't heat right have doors that are under cut?
If not, do they stay warm when the doors are open?
If not. Then you don't have either enough supply to those rooms. or, the system on a whole doesn't have enough return air.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 04:15 PM   #5
Old Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ottawa Valley, Eastern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Cold air return grill at furnace intake


If it's a natural draft furnace, the return air is illegal.
Should be minimum 6 feet away.
tinmanrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2009, 05:28 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Cold air return grill at furnace intake


No return within 10' of any combustion appliance by our code.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009, 07:41 AM   #7
DIY Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Cold air return grill at furnace intake


Thanks for the replies, everyone. I sealed off the grille last night and I don't feel any difference in supply. I do feel better intake at the far rooms' cold air returns. No additional noise except for a slight whistle at the filter slot.

Thanks again - appreciate the help.

-Zeke

Advertisement

Zeke2112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cold air return , ducts , hvac


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Make up ventilation through return on furnace question creamaster HVAC 8 09-27-2009 05:53 PM
Flooring cold from furnace intake flipper_79 Building & Construction 1 01-25-2009 12:24 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
Gas Furnace - Burning smell at return blakemcginnis HVAC 4 01-26-2008 09:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts