Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-14-2009, 04:56 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin
Posts: 935
Rewards Points: 500
Default

cold air return


I knocked out a wall that had 2 cold air returns in it, one on each side. I framed up a knee wall and need to replace the cold air returns. Don't have much experience doing heating. Can I put both returns in the same stud cavity? Also for the return I just cut the floor out and the drywall and put a peice of sheet metal to block off the top? Thanks for any help with this.

ponch37300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 05:31 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,648
Rewards Points: 2,434
Default

cold air return


That works just fine.

yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 05:39 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,648
Rewards Points: 2,974
Default

cold air return


Using the same cavity for both returns, limits the amount of return you can draw from the rooms.

A single wall cavity, is seldom big enough for one room, let alone 2 rooms.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 05:53 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin
Posts: 935
Rewards Points: 500
Default

cold air return


Is this just because the 3 1/2" x 14 1/2" whole going threw the floor doesn't let enough air flow threw it? Thanks for your help
ponch37300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 07:11 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,648
Rewards Points: 2,974
Default

cold air return


Yes.

It can only handle x amount of air.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 06:49 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin
Posts: 935
Rewards Points: 500
Default

cold air return


Alright, I am putting the returns in 2 different stud bays. This is in a knee wall that is 2x6 framing. I couldn't find any metal plates made for "caping" off the stud bays above the returns. So can I just use a piece of 2x6 for the top? Also when I cut the bottom plate out do I just cut the whole thing from stud to stud out? Thanks for your help
ponch37300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 07:08 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,648
Rewards Points: 2,974
Default

cold air return


A 2x6 plate is fine.
Make sure you caulk around it, to make sure its air tight.

NO. DO NOT cut the whole 2 x 6.
But, if you do, by accident. Use a framing plate to rebrace it.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 07:42 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin
Posts: 935
Rewards Points: 500
Default

cold air return


Beenthere, Thanks for the help. What is the best way to cut the bottom plate and how much should I cut out? Most of the returns I've seen in 2x4 walls have had the whole bottem plate cut out in between the studs. Thanks
ponch37300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 09:49 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,648
Rewards Points: 2,974
Default

cold air return


I sawzall them.

In the old days, we cut them out completely.
Not really allowed by code anymore.
Some places make us use a braze plate, no matter what when we cut a return through the cavity.

I try to leave a " on the 2 x 6, and an inch at the ends.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2009, 09:55 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin
Posts: 935
Rewards Points: 500
Default

cold air return


Thanks for all the help Beenthere.

ponch37300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric wire in cold air return bvbellomo Electrical 8 01-08-2009 06:01 PM
Basement Cold air return Bcoleman6 HVAC 2 06-07-2008 08:42 AM
move cold air return or add extra hot air CamL HVAC 2 03-26-2008 12:43 AM
Cold Air Return near ceiling or floor? jakobus HVAC 3 07-21-2005 10:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.