Codes For Covering Up Furnaces... - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-02-2012, 01:35 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Codes for covering up furnaces...

Hello,
I am a firefighter and I asked my fire Marshall's that I work with and they weren't sure. I recently got an old house in which they started a remodel. They tore off the drywall to remodel and left it uncovered. I want to replace the insulation and cover up the wall with hardibacker or some type of cement board I just wanted to make sure that it was ok to cover up the wall with this. Is there a certain minimum clearance there must be? Also is it ok to have the insulation so close to the heater vent? I have attached an image of the current wall/insulation.
Thanks,
Ian
Attached Thumbnails
Codes for covering up furnaces...-image-3734024101.jpg  

Advertisement

socrates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 02:19 PM   #2
E2 Electrician

Rewards Points: 2,120

Quote:
Originally Posted by socrates View Post
Hello,
I am a firefighter and I asked my fire Marshall's that I work with and they weren't sure. I recently got an old house in which they started a remodel. They tore off the drywall to remodel and left it uncovered. I want to replace the insulation and cover up the wall with hardibacker or some type of cement board I just wanted to make sure that it was ok to cover up the wall with this. Is there a certain minimum clearance there must be? Also is it ok to have the insulation so close to the heater vent? I have attached an image of the current wall/insulation.
Thanks,
Ian
The appliance will have the designated clearance requirements on the unit...

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 02:41 PM   #3
HOTDAWG

Rewards Points: 75