Clicking Noise - Nothing Running On Outside Unit - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2013, 09:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Clicking Noise - nothing running on outside unit


When I went to turn on the AC this morning, I got fan only - nothing outside. I opened up the panel, and there is a clicking noise (coming from the part I took a picture of) when I turn it on/off and a very faint humming noise. I replaced the capacitor last year.

Any help would be appreciated.





Advertisement

jason586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 09:37 AM   #2
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,549
Rewards Points: 780
Default

Clicking Noise - nothing running on outside unit


Check for 240V across that red and black wire at the top side of your contactor.

Advertisement

__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 09:53 AM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,073
Rewards Points: 784
Default

Clicking Noise - nothing running on outside unit


actually you want to go to the bottom side of the contactor (black and white wires) as that is incoming. if you have no 240 volts then check your fuses/breakers or disconnect or just do that anyway.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 07:42 PM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Clicking Noise - nothing running on outside unit


shut the disconnect out on the condenser...then call the cooling in from the stat this will give you 24Vs at the contactor shown..if it is chattering you won't short cycle that compressor..or fan.remove one side of the LOW voltage slip connectors and touch it on and off...looking for a once closure and having I hold with it connected....if not the coil is weak easy local Grainger trip and change out single pole 24V contactor 30amps rated for 230V
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 01:26 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Clicking Noise - nothing running on outside unit


Here is a pic of what I got across the white and black at the bottom of the contactor when the AC is NOT turned on and the center section of the contactor is NOT recessed in.
When I turn the AC on and the contactor clicks/center section recesses in, the reading goes to zero.

jason586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 03:40 PM   #6
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Clicking Noise - nothing running on outside unit


voltage is wrong or i've been using a digital for so long i've forgotten how to read an analog. lol.

on your meter i assume 250v is full scale, you have about 105v. check fuses for continuity and 110v to gd from each leg.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvac5646 For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (08-27-2013)
Old 08-27-2013, 05:09 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,073
Rewards Points: 784
Default

Clicking Noise - nothing running on outside unit


Yep, you got about 80 volts when I enlarge the pic. One of your fuses is blown or one leg of the twin breaker is tripped.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (08-27-2013)
Old 08-27-2013, 07:15 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Clicking Noise - nothing running on outside unit


The breaker is not tripped, so I guess it is one of the fuses.

How can I check the fuses. Using the voltmeter?




jason586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 07:29 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,156
Rewards Points: 650
Default

Clicking Noise - nothing running on outside unit


arnt they cheap enough just to by 2 and replace? also have spares?

10 bucks on Amazon 2 pack free ship
__________________
digitalplumber is just a name for use here, I am not a plumber!
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 08:04 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,443
Rewards Points: 4,532
Default

Clicking Noise - nothing running on outside unit


On your meter, you will see a setting that looks a bit like an upside down horse shoe. that is the ohms setting. Set it to that, and check if the fuses are open(the needle will remain to the left side.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (08-27-2013)
Old 08-27-2013, 08:05 PM   #11
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,073
Rewards Points: 784
Default

Clicking Noise - nothing running on outside unit


1) shut off breakers inside house
2) check for voltage from each side of the fuse to ground /metal box with no paint on it to make sure it is not live
3) wear leather gloves and boots and carefully remove/pull the fuse out when ground is dry (not standing on wet grass)
4) check across the fuse with the ohmmeter function of the meter. looks like an upside down U . or google how to use an ohmmeter for some vids. should have 0 ohms or very little resistance if not blown. infinite resistance if blown. replace both of them and HDepot may have them, not 100% sure but they have some.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 08-27-2013 at 08:08 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 08:06 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Clicking Noise - nothing running on outside unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalplumber View Post
arnt they cheap enough just to by 2 and replace? also have spares?

10 bucks on Amazon 2 pack free ship
I had not looked up how much they cost yet. I wanted to know how to test them just to make sure they tested bad and were the problem, plus then I would know how to do it if needed in the future.

It is supposed to 90 tomorrow with the low of 78 tomorrow evening, so I was planning on getting them local to get them as soon as possible.
jason586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 08:10 PM   #13
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,073
Rewards Points: 784
Default

Clicking Noise - nothing running on outside unit


read my post above yours, we sent them at the same time
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 08:10 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Clicking Noise - nothing running on outside unit


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
On your meter, you will see a setting that looks a bit like an upside down horse shoe. that is the ohms setting. Set it to that, and check if the fuses are open(the needle will remain to the left side.
Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
1) shut off breakers inside house
2) check for voltage from each side of the fuse to ground /metal box with no paint on it to make sure it is not live
3) wear leather gloves and boots and carefully remove/pull the fuse out when ground is dry (not standing on wet grass)
4) check across the fuse with the ohmmeter function of the meter. looks like an upside down U . or google how to use an ohmmeter for some vids. should have 0 ohms or very little resistance if not blown. infinite resistance if blown. replace both of them and HDepot may have them, not 100% sure but they have some.
Thanks!
jason586 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 08:12 PM   #15
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,073
Rewards Points: 784
Default

Clicking Noise - nothing running on outside unit


BE careful.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brayant condensing unit noise MikeKy55 HVAC 1 05-29-2013 11:11 PM
Tempstar DC90 with persistent and annoying clicking noise Carlos245 HVAC 7 11-20-2012 02:10 PM
Rusted and almost gone drain pan, Package unit Nordyne kilosos2 HVAC 3 11-18-2012 10:24 AM
running AC unit off generator hotrod351 Electrical 36 08-19-2012 06:12 PM
Gas boiler vibration & noise when it running Ballastar HVAC 1 05-21-2011 06:00 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts