Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-20-2012, 11:27 PM   #1
twk
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Clayton woodburner wiring


I recently purchase a used Clayton woodburning furnace. I need a wiring schematic but so far everyone I received from US Stove is for wiring a Honeywell. Ths furnace is a model 7.1 and doesnt have honeywell equipment. It has a printed circuit board with 3 connectors The top connector has two wires which go to the draft blower; the middle connectoris for power to the circuit board. the third connector has 4 wires, black blue red and white. I need to know how to connect these to run a 3 speed blower. If someone has a Clayton woodburner with a circuit board your help would be greatly appreciated.

twk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 08:57 AM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,328
Rewards Points: 1,022
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Clayton woodburner wiring


Here is the parts page for a clayton 7.1, it does not show any PCB. It does show a limit kit and that is the only thing even close to what you are talking about. I think someone may have changed the wiring and pcb on your furnace. DO you have a picture?

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS

Last edited by hvactech126; 10-21-2012 at 09:06 AM.
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 10:31 AM   #3
twk
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Clayton woodburner wiring


I'll get one.
twk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 06:56 PM   #4
twk
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Clayton woodburner wiring


Attached is the photo of the circuit board
Attached Thumbnails
Clayton woodburner wiring-101_5206.jpg  
twk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 12:28 AM   #5
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,328
Rewards Points: 1,022
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Clayton woodburner wiring


I see nothing like that available for your model. Is there a schematic on the back of the plate/door that went over the PCB?
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 05:36 PM   #6
twk
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Clayton woodburner wiring


No, the party i purchased it from couldn't locate it. If this is any help, in addition to 7.1V it also shows 5.6V on the metal information plate.
twk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2012, 06:22 PM   #7
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,328
Rewards Points: 1,022
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Clayton woodburner wiring


What are your connections on the blower?

Typically

Black = high speed
Blue = med speed
red = low speed
white = neutral
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 08:30 PM   #8
twk
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Clayton woodburner wiring


Those colors are correct.
twk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 08:44 PM   #9
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,328
Rewards Points: 1,022
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Clayton woodburner wiring


can you find ANY numbers on the circuit board?
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 05:52 PM   #10
twk
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Clayton woodburner wiring


Yes, on the front it says Clayton Micro Trak Marketing. The back says TKH p/n 10927.
twk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 07:30 PM   #11
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,328
Rewards Points: 1,022
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Clayton woodburner wiring


I still can not find anything. you will need to call US stove.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 06:44 PM   #12
twk
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Clayton woodburner wiring


I appreciate your help and the time you've put in.

Thanks
twk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 10:59 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Clayton woodburner wiring


I bought the Clayton Stove (used) a few years ago and have the same board that you do. mine was working up until one of the connectors shorted out.


I'm not an electrician, but when the stove is running, there is power from the black (hot wire) going to the board. Once the box gets up to temp, one of the colored wires on the four prong connector goes hot, and the rear blower motor kicks on.

Please let me know if you need any more specific info....

Dave

DavePts is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with wiring issues on a newly purchased house ThatGuy Electrical 13 01-17-2012 11:51 AM
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 10:01 AM
Backyard wiring questions MikeInDetroit Electrical 1 11-02-2011 10:46 AM
Cloth Wiring - Replace? JessicaGus Electrical 9 09-23-2009 07:45 PM
Knob & Tube wiring - How concerned should we be? hotdiggitydog Electrical 6 04-11-2006 08:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.