Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-04-2009, 02:59 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 445
Share |
Default

Class III Vent


how big a hole should I cut in the roof for my 4" class III vent? I have no more than about 1/2"clearance from combustible materials where the vent exits the roof, and I'm under the impression that I need at least 1". Can you think of any solutions to shield the roof (planks, not osb or plywood) from heat in a code-friendly fashion? My largest hole saw is 5-1/2", and I really hate to hack everything to bits with a reciprocating saw.

benjamincall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 03:48 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,410
Default

Class III Vent


Codes vary from area to area and I would call your local building code inspector and insurance agent to find out what they approve. If not done properly you may void your insurance. 1 inch clearance is standard.

yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 05:37 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 445
Default

Class III Vent


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Codes vary from area to area and I would call your local building code inspector and insurance agent to find out what they approve. If not done properly you may void your insurance. 1 inch clearance is standard.
Maybe I'll just hack away at it some more. My municipality doesn't make any modifications to the IBC.
benjamincall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 07:04 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,052
Default

Class III Vent


What furnace/appliance do you have that is Class III.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 07:36 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 445
Default

Class III Vent


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
What furnace/appliance do you have that is Class III.
Rheem 199 kbtu tankless water heater.
benjamincall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 07:51 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,052
Default

Class III Vent


Just follow the clearences that the install instructions say.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bubbling in toilet rballard Plumbing 11 08-30-2008 07:15 PM
Low-Slope Ventilation - Cobra Fascia Vent and Cor-a-Vent Roof-2-Wall vent atulc Roofing/Siding 7 08-22-2008 10:40 PM
Plumbing Vent size recommendations rlhed Plumbing 4 07-31-2008 12:01 AM
Where is the toilet vent?!?!? domgbrown Plumbing 4 01-11-2008 06:33 PM
Yoke vent for water closet kenlog Plumbing 4 07-13-2007 06:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.