Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2012, 06:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Circuit Board Failure due to High Voltage


Hopefully a quick question. My Lennox 80UHG furnace recently stopped working. I diagnosed the problem as a shot circuit board (12L6901 replacing with 83M00). When checking the voltage, I noticed that the home voltage seemed high. The line voltage is 127 Volts resulting in a voltage output from the transformer of 27 Volts (vs. 24 Volt spec). In order to avoid going through this problem again, does anyone know if these circuit board specs allow for a voltage that high?

Thanks,

Steve
huyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 06:29 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Circuit Board Failure due to High Voltage


Not a problem.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Marty S. For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-06-2012)
Old 01-06-2012, 06:31 PM   #3
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,461
Default

Circuit Board Failure due to High Voltage


Quote:
Originally Posted by huyer View Post
The line voltage is 127 Volts...
Line voltages fluctuate all the time.
Occasionally a real spike can come through but 127VAC isn't that.

While 127VAC is at the upper limit of normal service range (5-6% +/-) and within the normal incidental range (10%+/-) even at steady rate it is within the reasonable tolerances that can ordinarily be expected and which your controls should be able to tolerate.

Quote:
In order to avoid going through this problem again, does anyone know if these circuit board specs allow for a voltage that high?
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 07:26 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Circuit Board Failure due to High Voltage


Thanks for the infor guys, I really appreciate it.

Steve
huyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 08:53 PM   #5
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Default

Circuit Board Failure due to High Voltage


Almost all electrical items in this country operate with a 10% limit.
!20 volt motors will operate at 108V or at 132V. 24V items at 21.6V or at 26.4V and so on.Its built into the national electric code.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 05:07 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,469
Default

Circuit Board Failure due to High Voltage


The low voltage devices of a typical furnace, A/C, or heat pump, are rated to work with a voltage as high as 30 volts.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Bryant Plus 80 Circuit Board tbzep HVAC 3 12-30-2010 12:14 AM
circuit board repair for pellet stove mudmusic8 Electrical 4 06-03-2010 10:08 PM
cord to my heating pad got ripped out from its circuit board..any help? flashme18 Electrical 8 07-09-2008 10:28 PM
Inducer fan assembly or inducer control circuit board failing realblonde94526 HVAC 3 05-12-2008 07:28 PM
Low voltage in same box as high voltage? mpedrummer Electrical 2 02-28-2007 11:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.