Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-18-2009, 10:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Chimney size?


I have aquired a free woodburner with 4 blowers, and some misc piping (stove pipe and 8" duct pipe). I have the thing in place, one blower (more than enough) attached and wired in, and the duct works is piped into my furnace ducting and to a room that is notably cold all winter long (french door, garage door, very little insulation on a concrete floor). All is well.
The chimney pipe is 7". That size is so hard to come by and so expensive when you do that I am considering either going up to 8" or down to 6". I need some advice on this. It is a large piece compared to others I have seen and is rated for coal burning as well though I doubt I ever will. I was told it would heat the entire house (3000sqft), and was used to heatr a 1500sqft garage before with no ducting, just blowing out the two eight inch outlets.
Any help would be apreciated

gdcpony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 08:32 PM   #2
Old Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ottawa Valley, Eastern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Chimney size?


Consult your insurer.
They call the shots.
Most contractors are steering away from wood installs.
It's a liability issue.

tinmanrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 08:39 PM   #3
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Chimney size?


What is the size of opening off the stove?
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 08:50 PM   #4
Old Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ottawa Valley, Eastern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Chimney size?


Pretty sure he said 7".
tinmanrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2009, 09:02 PM   #5
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Chimney size?


Quote:
Originally Posted by tinmanrob View Post
Pretty sure he said 7".

Pretty sure he said Chimney pipe is 7", said nothing about the size of the opening out of the stove.

Again, Pretty sure
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 04:56 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,526
Rewards Points: 2,732
Default

Chimney size?


Should be ok with 8".

I believe it is a code violation to go smaller then the breech opening on the wood stove.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2009, 10:49 AM   #7
Old Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ottawa Valley, Eastern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Chimney size?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber101 View Post
Pretty sure he said Chimney pipe is 7", said nothing about the size of the opening out of the stove.

Again, Pretty sure
I plead guilty to a poor choice of words.
No harm intended.
tinmanrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2009, 10:26 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Chimney size?


Sorry, I was away for Military drills. The opening is 7" right off the back of the case. The previous owner put an elbow right there, but that can come off. I would run the pipe the same size, but getting a hold of 7" stuff is so hard and expensive. Not to mention they need 3-6 weeks to get it out.
I have it up on low bricks right now on a cement floor 30" away from the back wall and will be putting a cinderblock wall around it just to be safe. Next year I planned an addition to the garage that will put this thing in a full masonry chimney, but that is going to have to wait another year as I will be deployed then. So this has toi last safely for two years.
I was told by others I am being too safe as it is a "cased" burner (?) which I guess doesn't have the same exterior temps as my little fireplace insert. Better safe than sorry.
I can get pics once I figure out how the wife messed up the camera, but things are a mess right now out there as I take care of a few projects before bow season opens.

gdcpony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chimney roof penitration size? will52100 HVAC 16 08-28-2009 03:42 PM
Chimney Confusion (Long) wehcyar Building & Construction 7 09-03-2008 09:09 AM
Roof Leak Around Chimney robertr4836 Roofing/Siding 3 03-11-2008 11:23 AM
Looks like leaking around the chimney - roofer says it is the chimney itself Salvatorparadise Roofing/Siding 6 03-07-2008 03:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.