Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2012, 05:38 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 107
Default

chimney flue liner question


Hi all,

I recently had my chimney inspected to ensure it was safe for use with my fireplace. My chimney has two flues, one for the fireplace and one for the boiler/water heater. Over the years, the heat source in my house was coal, then changed to oil, and now it's gas. Apparently, according to the guy that inspected my chimney, that can wreak havoc on the liners. the fireplace liner isn't in bad shape, some very minor flaking but all in all, it's good to go. my liner for the boiler and water heater, however, is in need of repair ASAP - entire sections of the old liner are missing, there was chunks of terracotta in the cleanout, etc..

Anyhow, the question I have is whether or not I'll have issues going forward if I replace my old boiler (140,000 BTUs) with a newer and more efficient boiler. According to the guy that did the inspection, 140,000 BTUs seems a bit much for a house of my size (approximately 1,320 SqFt). I believe he said my current liner is a 6in, would I have issues if when I bought a new boiler, it only needed a 4 or 5in liner?


Last edited by andrewjs18; 02-05-2012 at 05:46 PM. Reason: typo
andrewjs18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 06:00 PM   #2
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

chimney flue liner question


At 140,00 btu s I would guess that is twice what it has to be.
There is no benifit from repairing the bad flue.You could have a flue liner of flexible metal installed or if it were my house I would run "B" vent in the old chimney.Neither of these are new and both have been around for decades.
When you get your new 50,000-70,000 boiler get an indirect water heater so that nothing else has to be vented up the chimney.

REP is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to REP For This Useful Post:
plummen (02-06-2012)
Old 02-05-2012, 06:33 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 107
Default

chimney flue liner question


Quote:
Originally Posted by REP View Post
At 140,00 btu s I would guess that is twice what it has to be.
There is no benifit from repairing the bad flue.You could have a flue liner of flexible metal installed or if it were my house I would run "B" vent in the old chimney.Neither of these are new and both have been around for decades.
When you get your new 50,000-70,000 boiler get an indirect water heater so that nothing else has to be vented up the chimney.
the chimney guy quoted $1600 for a stainless steel liner with a lifetime warranty that was transferable. I just don't want to put out that money and then have issues down the road if I decide to upgrade the old boiler.
andrewjs18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2012, 07:02 PM   #4
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500
Default

chimney flue liner question


or u could save more than a grand and use a standard chimney liner
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvac5646 For This Useful Post:
plummen (02-06-2012)
Old 02-05-2012, 07:08 PM   #5
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

chimney flue liner question


You can use an aluminum flue liner or use single wall metal. The Stainless steel live us used more often for wood stoves and pellet stove. Where it is natural gas the flue temp won't reach the temp needed for stainless steel

Ebay has flue liners for a pretty good price. With the lowering of the BTU's and encased in a chimey you should be able to reduce to 4".
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 12:12 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 107
Default

chimney flue liner question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber101 View Post
You can use an aluminum flue liner or use single wall metal. The Stainless steel live us used more often for wood stoves and pellet stove. Where it is natural gas the flue temp won't reach the temp needed for stainless steel

Ebay has flue liners for a pretty good price. With the lowering of the BTU's and encased in a chimey you should be able to reduce to 4".
the downfall to using an aluminum liner, at least in my specific instance, is that the chimney guy only warranties it while I'm living here, it's not transferable. at least with a SS liner, the warranty will transfer if I were to sell the house, which could be used as a selling point.

I don't plan on upgrading the heater at the same time as getting the new liner installed. this is why I was curious if this would be an issue later down the road if I were to upgrade the heater.

Last edited by andrewjs18; 02-06-2012 at 12:18 AM.
andrewjs18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2012, 12:34 AM   #7
Member
 
Ironlight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 500
Default

chimney flue liner question


I have never heard of someone deciding to buy a house because it had a stainless steel liner in the chimney. In fact, the inspector likely won't even note what the furnace liner is made from, only that the terra cotta flue was "recently relined." Don't shell out for something on the theory that it's going to help you sell your house down the road. Renovated kitchens and bathrooms sell houses and recoup some of their cost, chimney liners don't.
Ironlight is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Ironlight For This Useful Post:
andrewjs18 (02-06-2012), plummen (02-06-2012)
Old 02-06-2012, 01:17 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 107
Default

chimney flue liner question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironlight View Post
I have never heard of someone deciding to buy a house because it had a stainless steel liner in the chimney. In fact, the inspector likely won't even note what the furnace liner is made from, only that the terra cotta flue was "recently relined." Don't shell out for something on the theory that it's going to help you sell your house down the road. Renovated kitchens and bathrooms sell houses and recoup some of their cost, chimney liners don't.
that's a good point too. thanks for giving me a proverbial slap, it was needed!

andrewjs18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
chimney cap question wombosi Building & Construction 2 10-11-2011 12:50 PM
Chimney flashing rotted and siding question Kdavid Roofing/Siding 2 10-06-2011 08:55 AM
does my chimney need a liner? amakarevic HVAC 11 05-26-2011 02:53 PM
chimney pipe question naehring2000 HVAC 2 03-24-2010 07:29 AM
Chimney cap question sherlock Building & Construction 1 11-17-2005 05:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.